Categories
Christianity/Religion Medical/Technical The World

Haiti and My Shawnna

So quickly comes the change: …the earth roars…symptoms demand an emergency room…

…and yet…all remains the same…

For about me are loving people, and on the instant, as always, they pray, set up funds, offer services,  pool resources, gather material, and plan flights to the suffering land.

Lady Bethani Roam Brain and I were just looking at pictures of Haiti. The horrible disaster and deaths of so many are just horrible. We were saying to each other “we wish we could do something!” We are praying for the people who are hurting, but wish we could do something else as well…..does anybody know any ways of giving or helping that we Americans can do?

And someone responds:
Samaritan’s Purse (www.samaritanspurse.com) or Compassion International (www.compassion.com). We give through World Vision (www.worldvision.org)… all of them are great, reputable organizations.

Cap’n Mark HappyHattabaughs Please pray we can get into Haiti. Airport is open then closes. Have flight from Dominican Rep. Our team needs to get in there – CSI.

Cap’n Bryan Nesom our thoughts and prayers are with the haitian people in the wake of this horrible earthquake that occurred today.

Lady Shirley M Was God has been so good to me. I have nothing to complain about and everything to be thankful for. My heart goes out to the thousands who have no bed to lie on tonight, no roof over their head, no food to eat, and the thousands who are suffering physical pain from the injuries of the earthquake along with emotional pain… from the loss of their loved ones. Jesus, be their comforter tonight.

Lady Becky Buckland May GOD be with the COMPASSION SERVICES great TEAM of MINISTERS who are on their way to HAITI to be of service to the desperate …. I am THANKFUL to BELONG to such a GREAT organization as the UPCI for their vision in organizing such an arm of LOVE and MERCY …. and HELP

Lady Tracy Cook Can’t watch the coverage of Haiti with dry eyes… Please pray… Please GIVE to the relief effort of your choice. Text “Haiti” to 90999 to make a $10 donation to the Red Cross. Please RT.

Lady Dee Dee Lively-Andrews If anyone has a United Mileage Plus account, you can donate your miles to The Salvation Army. The miles can be used to help transport volunteers to Haiti for earthquake disaster relief. To donate your miles call United: 1-800-421-4655

Thursday 1/14

Cap’n Mark HappyHattabaughs Our flight into Haiti is cancelled from Dominican Rep. Plan B in place: Bus/truck. Plan C: helicopter. Please donate online. Keep trying.

Source: Facebook

…and from around the country now as they learn of the abnormal spot on my Shawnna’s brain, they call, and query, and promise prayer, and say I love you, and how can I help, and does anybody know?…and what about the MRI?…and new converts weep with me in the night, and pat my shoulder, and bend over to offer tissue.

A few turns of the clock: Change, brutal change. Same, glorious same.

By Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 84 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She was married to Jerry for 63 years, and grieves yet at his death in August of 2019. They have 4 children, 13 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)

6 replies on “Haiti and My Shawnna”

At this point of my life, I can ask me, is there any greater pain and concern that for one of my little ones? No! Not my boys, there men now with their own families. It’s not my grand-children, because they have either just passed over or standing at the threshold of adulthood, but the next generation. They are all babies, these move both my heart and spirit very deeply.
You and yours are in our prayers this day. May the glory of our God be seen in your situation!
Mervi

Thank you, Mervi.

Like

I know you know this, but God isn’t too busy taking care of Haiti that He can’t take care of Shawnna, too. He’s big enough to handle it all.

Will be praying for you and your family.

Thank you for your prayers and your faith-building words.

Like

Leave a comment