A Christmas Carol in Lake Havasu

How many times I have read, heard or seen–at Christmas and other times–various renditions of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

is unremembered by me, but I assure you the number is a hefty one. Christmas is by far my favorite time of the year, and next to the Bible’s (and particularly St. Luke’s rendition) story of the birth of Jesus, this Charles Dickens story is my favorite literary Christmas tradition. It has been performed all over the world in every kind of venue imaginable from Shakespearean theatres to those of amateur underpinnings.

The image “https://i0.wp.com/charlesdickenspage.com/characters/scrooge_marley-leech.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

It’s a wonderful Christmas story, although not at all an account of the birth of the infant Jesus that night in Bethlehem. But the principle of the story is definitely of godly origin for it tells the transformation of a grouchy, negative old man into a giving, thankful, happy being. Tiny Tim’s enduring words God Bless Us Every One are as pertinent today as they were during those dark and dank days in London.

Jerry bought tickets earlier in the week, and last night we sat in small auditorium here in Lake Havasu to watch a fine staging of this enduring classic. It was a small, but elegant production, effected by a talented local cast. The costuming was beautiful. I found a few of the lines difficult to understand, and the lighting was a bit dim. The small amount of live music was jolly and well done. Loved the fogging, the swirling snow and the intimate play of the actors to the close audience.

The star of the show was the story line itself, and Scrooge who spoke the powerful words of redemption and transformation. What prodigious talent was exhibited in Charles Dickens who once said to his friend and biographer, John Forster:

“One is driven by irresistible might until the journey is worked out!”

The working out of his journey has endowed these many generations with capital and rich writings–literature that transcends time and culture–as relevant today as at the raw moment when first story-germ was quickened. Of all, A Christmas Carol must surely stand at apogee. It is splendid drama.

The image “https://i0.wp.com/www.iln.org.uk/iln_years/year/images/1843/xmas%20carol1.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

Illustrations and images from Google images

____________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

7 thoughts on “A Christmas Carol in Lake Havasu

  1. Lake Havasu is beautiful around Christmas time. I recently spent my first Christmas here. The resort is all lit up with more lights than I’ve ever seen in one place. I’ve read A Christmas Carol, or should I say my mother read it to me as a child.

    Like

  2. I hope all readers take time to read A CHRISTMAS CAROL. This is the most heartwarming story ever written about Christmas, the story is truly magical. It captures the very essence of what Christmas is all about. A classic read that will remind yourself to be thankful of what you have and those around you.

    Merry Christmas and God Bless us everyone!

    Like

  3. We always look forward every year to listening to the rendition of A Christmas Carol that my sister mentioned above. It’s one of the best renditions I’ve heard. The first time Mike and I listened to it several years ago, we were both crying by the end of it. My sister Carol can imitate the laugh of Scrooge’s maid, and we love hearing her as she screeches out a hearty guffaw. God bless us everyone!

    Like

  4. Good morning, CAROL–

    I believe I have heard Dr. Dobson’s Christmas Carol, but not the extra information that is on your CD. I can envision Charles Dickens laughing and crying as he walked through London–a talented man, indeed.

    STACEY, what a wonderful surprise to hear from you. Hope you come to my blog often.

    Like

  5. A Christmas Carol is one of my favorite Christmas stories too. Several years ago, we purchased the Focus on the Family Radio Theatre’s version of A Christmas Carol. It really is outstanding. We love to listen to it, especially sitting around the fireplace. It has become a tradition to listen to it at my sister Karen’s house on Christmas Day, after the presents have been open. On the CD, they also tell the story of how Charles Dickens wrote the story and how he wept and laughed and wept again as the story idea came to him while walking the streets of London.
    I would like to see A Christmas Carol performed sometime, but for now, I listen over and over again to our CD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

