To See. To Hear.

Said so often that the trappings of cliche have been attached, is march to the beat of a different drummer. While admittedly a hackneyed phrase, its meaning is vividly spoken; so well said that its becoming overused is understandable, as actually is the case with most cliches.

Henry David Thoreau’s exact words are:

If a man loses pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured, or far away.

The different people are found in every echelon, guild, and in every level of society; in every socioeconomic strata. Every discipline has a share of such people; such people as stagger our understanding. Amazed, we learn that Beethoven wrote his Ninth Symphony when he was totally deaf, and that Louis Braille, because he had been blinded by accident when he was three years old, and because he wanted to read so badly, invented the Braille system. In slave quarters at Diamond Grove, Mo. near the end of the Civil War, George Washington Carver was born. When but an infant, he and his mother were kidnapped by Confederate night raiders. But because of his inner vision and rare drive, he fought upward and became a renown agricultural chemist.

I have a thought that even among us who as a group are rather centered on having found the right way of life–perhaps smug in the knowing at times–there are you who have an elusive sense of distinctness, and who, as you sit with us on benches or stand by lecterns on Sundays, in some ways know you are foreigners. Perhaps you struggle to understand the different slant of your framing as the undeniable glints in your eye and the otherworldly sets your jaw. Try telling your vision to another and a blank face may be turned or a pat on the head, a knowing (though unknowing) smile, an indulging of your quirkiness.

Life entangles you. Work and family, a game in the street, a bite of cheese, gaiety, a quart of milk, but never is it gone, and on an instant is the faraway gaze,  Explain? Impossible. You wander the street of your city, aloof, or the roads of the country. You clap your hands in worship, disconnected. You preach. You worship. You sing Happy Birthday, Jesus, and you say Happy New Year and blow whistles and squeeze shoulders, but you’re alone, not there, for it is but a motion, a time in transition, a passageway.

My plea to you on this first day of the year 2012 is that you be true to your vision, to your calling, to your gift. Though none may understand, though you may never understand yourself, I urge you to eye The Vision, to hear The Voice.

_______________________________

I have been writing this blog for several years now, and it astounds me that this site has been viewed more than one million times. I’m humbled and grateful for your interest.

In recent months, though, there have been substantially less visits here, and very little interaction–few comments. I’m thinking a couple of reasons account for this: First, I have been posting less here and more frequently on Facebook, often with a link to a post here. I like Facebook, quickly hear what my friends are doing some days, and have made connection with people I hadn’t heard from in years. That’s all nice, but there is a lack of depth to Facebook, and not frequently do persons engage in thoughtful and a bit deeper conversations. Also, when comments are made on Facebook about a blog post here, they feel “lost” to me. They are not posted with the article in question, and take lots of scrolling around to find them.

So, because I enjoy writing, and because I especially enjoy your interaction, I’ve decided to no longer routinely link my articles to Facebook, and am hoping to increase traffic here. I may pop over to your place with a link every now and then as an invitation to come visit me here. Remember that you can subscribe to this blog so that you will be notified when I make a new post.

I want to hear from you. Please comment when you have interest about something I’ve written.

Blessings always…and a wonderful new year!

_______________

New blog post on my devotional site.

18 thoughts on “To See. To Hear.

  1. I love your blog and check it often. You encourage and motivate me to be a better wife, mother, and Christian. You also inspire me to think deeper and consider other viewpoints. Thanks for sharing your writing gift.

    Sister Barnes, thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words. Hope you continue to visit here and to leave your comments.

    A blessed year for you and yours……..

    Like

  2. Joyce Baglin

    Sis Shirley,
    Your posts are the best.
    Sorry I have been negligent in saying so.
    Perhaps your lack of response is due to less posting.
    I go regularly to your blog but in finding nothing new
    I don’t go as often. We don’t use Facebook.

    Keep up your wonderful writing.We also enjoyed your 365 days.
    of photography.

    Thank you.

    Your friend,
    Joyce Baglin

    Like

  3. Charlotte Mills

    Dear Sister Buxton – This particular blog post of yours touched me deeply. I love your writing, and I receive an email every time you write a new post. You are truly gifted in so many ways! God bless you, and please, never stop writing!!! We need you now more than ever. Happy New Year to you and Bro. Buxton….and all your family!! Love you!

    Thank you, Sister Mills for these comments and for your support. I do appreciate it so much.

    Love and blessings…..

    Like

  4. Pingback: An Abundant Utterance « God Things

  5. Michael

    I love the scripture in the bible,”peace that that passeth all understanding” I think when you don’t posses that peace your understanding of that different drumbeat is confusing to your gait.

    Michael, how glad I am–how thankful–that throughout all those years when you strayed from God, you never quit hearing His voice. You never quit seeing His vision. I cry when I think about it all–where you were, and where you are now. What peace. What comfort.

    Love you, my dear son.

    Like

  6. dean

    Thanks for continuing with the wonderful work on this blog. I am always moved by your writings. Thank You and Happy New Year!

    Dean, how I do love you. How thankful I am that you have turned your life again to God. How great is His mercy.

    I appreciate your support to my writing so very much. Love to you and yours.

    Like

  7. Doretha

    I loved your post. It is very true, and the depth of conversation is lacking in many of my own posts.
    I am thankful for people like you that can cause us to take a deeper look at our self, and the very core of our thoughts and actions.
    Thank you for being so sensitive to God and for sharing with all of us.

    Doretha, you’re such a steady friend, always commenting and giving of yourself. Thank you for your contributions. Somehow I believe through social networks, we can minister to each other.

    We’re setting up a book tour–heading north in the Spring. Maybe we can get together–at least for lunch or coffee.

    Love…

    Like

  8. Sis. Buxton, I understand where you’re coming from. I love the interaction of others when I write a post on my blog, but the comments have decreased dramatically and I too believe its because of our “quick fix” on Facebook. I stopped writing as much on my blog and have felt terrible for it. I’ve had people say they are missing my posts, so I am going to do my best to write more this year. Please do not stop writing. Your thoughts are very much appreciated. Also, thank you for commenting on my posts. It means so much! Love you lots!

    Well, Linda, here we are kinda making new years resolutions. A good thing, I believe. I do love you, relate to you, and always enjoy your writing. Definitely anticipating being more closely connected this year.

    Like

  9. Thank you Sister Buxton. So true. It is nice to catch up with family and friends on Facebook. But I desire more time with my God. My life was too busy this past year. The paragraph on “Life entangles me……” has been alot of me this past year and I made some bigger decisions in my life recently. Thank you for being sensitive to the Holy Ghost. Please continue to give me the invitation.

    Like

  10. Oh my goodness! This article struck a cord in my heart in a huge way. I totally agree with what you wrote. I see talent being wasted in people who are not using it for various reasons and it makes me so sad.

    Today a lady was telling me about the great talents and gifts her adult children have in regards to working with children and young people, but sadly it wasn’t being used because the leader in their life stopped believing in children and youth ministries. Consequently, this caused at least one of her children to stop believing in it also! I have decided to put them at the top of my prayer list.

    Thank you for your writings. I always enjoy them and they always bless me.

    Regarding facebook not having lengthy discussions like you would like to see, don’t give up. Let’s just keep trying. 😉

    Happy New Year! May God continue to bless you and your family. I love and appreciate you very much. ♥Tena

    Like

Leave a Reply

