You’re Still Standing

For many of you, A rough year may describe the one just past: For some, I know such to be true, as I have heard your wails and I have seen your tears. Though un-shed may have been your soul-fountain, and though you were of the notion that none could see or feel the lashing rain, I knew. I weep now as I recall your blanched face and the dimming of your glistening vision, though well you rallied and held up splinters of hope for us to see. Of others, I know none of your grief, yet reel in the conviction of its being so, for the passage of years have attuned me to life and I know of its disappointments and acknowledge its raw pain.

The past months have been ragged, startling in their happenings and outcomes, laying shadows of uncertainty over your bearing line so that your future is greyed, and the clarity that was before is now muted and ill-focused. Strange, for your intentions were good, and though imperfection is acknowledged, trial and ordeal of such degree were unexpected. They seem unfair.

So often and so glibly their telling rolls from our tongues that I fear we may forget the adventure and passion involved in Biblical accounts. Think of Noah. God was so angry with the very people He had created that He planned to drown them every one, along with every other creature that inhabited the earth. Noah, however, was so different from the wicked around him that he found grace in the eyes of the Lord, and God spoke a plan to save Noah and his family. Build an ark, God said, and following God’s explicit plan, Noah did just that. When he was 600 years old, the ark was finished, his loved ones were safely aboard, and the rain began.

It was a strange experience for Noah. Never before had rain fallen. Lightening and thunder were no doubt unknown. Now came savage, pouring water that never stopped for 40 days and for 40 nights. The heavens opened. The fountains of the deep were broken up. Wild waters rose, and that wooden ark was flung about, heaving up and down among the seething fury of God. Dead animal bodies and human bodies with streaming hair and sightless eyes floated and were cast about . . . and Noah endured the dark, the unknown, the treacherous. Having found grace with God, Noah suffered and endured.

Jump to chapter 8, verse 1 of Genesis.

And God remembered Noah…

. . . and God made a wind to pass over the earth, and the waters assuaged.

God had not abandoned Noah. He was not forsaken. God remembered; knew to  infinite degree His plan for Noah. Verse 15 tells that after a time of the waters receding, God spoke to Noah and told him to leave the ark.

Gathering his family, Noah left the wretched vessel. In the doorway of the ark, he no doubt stood and surveyed the earth that had been wrenched apart by nature, by God. One thing was clear, though: Noah was still standing. Despite the rubble about him, despite the stench and disarray, Noah was still standing. The storm had been fearful, the screams of those dying around him would forever ring in his ears, the heaving and breaking of the earth beneath him were indescribable. Yet, he and his family had survived. They were alive to go forth, to deal with their world.

You, also, are still standing. You have endured. Your disappointments may be midnight black and of such degree that no one may ever know their depth. Yet, you stand. You survive. You live.

I suspect that you are of the nature of Noah, and that you will follow his example as he led his family to an earthen spot, where of the debris and the wreckage he found what he needed and there built an altar to God. Selecting clean animals, Noah burned sacrifices to his God.

God watched, and it was sweetness to Him.

____________________

I have been writing this blog for several years now, and it astounds me that this site has been viewed more than one million times. I’m humbled and grateful for your interest.

In recent months, though, there have been substantially less visits here, and very little interaction–few comments. I’m thinking a couple of reasons account for this: First, I have been posting less here and more frequently on Facebook, often with a link to a post here. I like Facebook, quickly hear what my friends are doing some days, and have made connection with people I hadn’t heard from in years. That’s all nice, but there is a lack of depth to Facebook, and not frequently do persons engage in thoughtful and a bit deeper conversations. Also, when comments are made on Facebook about a blog post here, they feel “lost” to me. They are not posted with the article in question, and take lots of scrolling around to find them.

So, because I enjoy writing, and because I especially enjoy your interaction, I’ve decided to no longer routinely link my articles to Facebook, and am hoping to increase traffic here. I may pop over to your place with a link every now and then as an invitation to come visit me here. Remember that you can subscribe to this blog so that you will be notified when I make a new post.

I want to hear from you. Please comment when you have interest about something I’ve written.

Blessings always…and a wonderful new year!

 

10 thoughts on “You’re Still Standing

  1. Thank you Sis Buxton. So perfect the writing and so perfect the timing. Last year dealt me some hard trials never before experienced. But I am still standing on His promises.
    I love everything you write.

    Like

  2. HG

    You know I am THRILLED about this change of events!! YEAH! YAHOO! Celebrate! I love your writing, but refuse to get sucked in to FB, so this makes me do the happy-dance. Woop! Woop! Woop! 2012 IS going to be better than 2011. For sure.

    Miss you bunches,
    Hugs,
    HG

    Like

  3. Nila Marxer

    Sis Buxton, You are a gift from God. Thank you for your writing. I know you’ve been through so many different situations in life, and you have kept your victorious testimony and sweet spirit. I needed this blog so desperately. God knew that, so He prompted you to write it. Thank you! Love you so much.

    Like

  4. Thank you Sis. Buxton! What a beautiful words. I’ve never thought to compare myself to Noah! I often thought of Job. But I love this comparison.
    I was just telling my husband yesterday {we often ‘think’ out loud!!} I was wondering what makes God choose certain people to go through things. He said to me, God trusted YOU to go through this trial. My dad, told me something along those same lines last week. He told me that when he was in prison, none of what he was enduring made sense. 30 years later? It all makes sense! Without pain, there is no gain!!

    Thank you for being such a wonderful support. I will ever be grateful!

    God Bless you, lovely lady!!
    Thank you for my encouragement 🙂

    ~*Jessica

    Like

  5. Jana McVay

    Beautiful! This brings to mind so many songs that encourage us to keep “Standing On the Promises of God.” God is my strength, my fortress, my redeemer, my peace and I will keep standing until He returns for His Beloved Bride.

    Happy New Year and much love to you and Bro. Buxton,

    Jana

    Love you, Jana. Appreciate your being here and your leaving a comment. You’re young, Jana, and you will face lots of disappointments and grief during your life. Never forget that God knows ALL about it. Everything. Nothing is a surprise to Him. Stay connected with Him and with His people. I’m convinced you will. Love you so much.

    Like

  6. Charlotte Mills

    Dear Sis. Buxton – Once again your writing has touched something deep inside my soul. Thank you for this excellently written, and Spirit-anointed blog post. Thanks for the reminder that, “God remembered Noah….”

    Love and prayers!

    You are so kind, Sister Mills. Thank you for being here and for your comments. God remembers us! Isn’t that the greatest thought! He remembers! He knows where we are! Love it. Love Him. Love you.

    Like

  7. I am indeed still standing. The grace of God is astounding and the Word instructs us: Having done all, stand.

    How blessed we are to, at the dawn, once more stagger to our feet. We stand. Love you. Praying for you.

    Like

  8. Joyce Baglin

    Thank you, Sis Buxton. Your post is so true., written so
    beautifully. I am 80 in a few days. 2011 has been one of my saddest
    years. But thank God, we are still standing looking for his soon returning.
    God keeps those things we commit into his hands.

    Blessings .

    Sis Joyce Baglin

    Sister Baglin, it is so good to hear from you, and to know you’re still standing, although not for a moment would I expect anything less from you.

    Life is so complicated, and all of us face things we never expected. In the past few months I’ve seen developments in persons I never dreamed I would see. Very disappointing.

    No disappointment in Jesus, though. He is steady . . . never changes.

    Love to you and yours.

    Like

  9. Sister Holmes, thank you for much for being here and for your compliments. I too, love to read Sister Elm’s writings. She is a precious person.

    These are trying times. We must support each other with our spoken and written words and with our lives.

    Blessings, Friend.

    Like

  10. Katrina Holmes

    You are such a beautiful writer. Your blog and that of Sis. Elms are my 2 top favorites. So happy that you are focusing more on your blog again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

