Categories
America Food Friends Photography Travel Weather/Nature

Hanging off Catalina

Hanging off Catalina, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

It is only 26 miles from Long Beach to Catalina, but yet it was morning before we anchored off the lovely town of Avalon. Even moving very slowly, it could not have taken that long: Throughout the dark night, we must have circled sharply within the western waters of the blue Pacific.

At one time on Tuesday morning, as I sat on the tail section of our ship looking toward the island, I saw as many as five of the yellow boats ferrying passengers from the Paradise to the charming and very popular island. When the time came that we had agreed with our friends to go over, we found that the lines to board the yellow Catalina boats snaked a long distance through narrow hallways. As Jerry and I walked.. and walked.. to find our place at the rear of the line, we asked the people we were passing how long was the wait. Disgusted, one lady–about half way back–said she had been waiting half an hour already. We kept walking, finally coming to the conclusion that our wait would be at least an hour and a half. Not worth it, we both agreed.

We left the line, circled back and there was Elaine, motioning to us. “Come this way.” We did and within a very short time were aboard a yellow boat, and in mere minutes were standing on the dock in Catalina.

“What happened?” I asked her. “How did we get in that line?”

“I don’t know,” she replied. “We were standing in that ugly long line when someone came for us, saying, ‘Get in the line here.'”

We spent an hour touring the fabled island aboard a 4-place golf cart. It was delightful. Back at the dock we quickly boarded a boat that took us to our ship…found our way to the buffet for lunch…slept much of the afternoon…then dressed for dinner, where lobster was served on our elegant plates. I tried to figure out the silverware, but couldn’t identify the use for so much; each place setting consisted of eleven pieces!

Gold Carts Tour Catalina by you.

By Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 84 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She was married to Jerry for 63 years, and grieves yet at his death in August of 2019. They have 4 children, 13 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)

2 replies on “Hanging off Catalina”

Fantastic picture!

It is exactly the kind of image I was looking for. It’s the middle of winter here in South Korea and we have experienced more snow this year than ever on record. It makes me dream of a warmer place~ I would love to use this photograph on my own blog as an inspirational image of the week. Of course, if you would rather I do not, just say the word and I will remove the image and the link immediately.

Sincerely,

Dorian

Welcome to my blog, Dorian. Hope you visit often. Of course you’re welcome to use this picture. I’m honored. Be well.

Like

I’ve been on that cruise. Actually it was my first cruise, and 6 of us single women went to celebrate my 50th birthday. ( I will go on my 6th cruise next April.) We also, rented the golf carts and toodled around Catalina and saw some beautiful sights. Hope you have a much fun as we did. Thanks for the memories!

Like

Leave a comment