A Friend and Cigar Boxes

So, I have come down to cigars…well, cigar boxes, actually. Came about this way.

On Monday afternoon when Jerry came in the motor home with our mail, along with various envelopes containing statements, notices and the other typical paraphernalia of a day’s postal delivery, he also carried a box–a box addressed to me. Not expecting anything, seeing we had ordered nothing, it wasn’t a holiday, and my significant birthday was almost a month past, and had been more than adequately celebrated, I was puzzled as to the contents of the medium-sized box.

Generously, I allowed Jerry the pleasure of opening the boring, slender family-addressed envelopes, while I tackled the mysterious carton. The package was not heavy, but was securely fastened, so from the kitchen I grabbed a small knife and slashed through the tape. When I pulled away the protective paper, I saw a flat brown surface. What is this? I lifted it from the shipping container, and saw it to be a box…and at that moment I knew: someone had sent me a cigar box!

Not one, but two beautiful wooden cigar boxes had been mailed to me. I hooted with laughter, and Jerry stared at me. “Someone sent me cigar boxes.” Then I found the card with a note scribbled on the back.

“I couldn’t resist after seeing ‘cigar’ boxes on your blog site which I visit often!

My hubby smokes the cigars occasionally–so I have cigar boxes. I do have the other more cardboard type but like the wooden ones.

Love to you and Brother Buxton”

Jean

On the inside pages of the card is listed a long string of accolades: You’re marvelous……….You’re…then a naming of 26 certainly undeserved compliments.

Jean is not someone I see frequently; actually she is so much younger than I am that she used to run around with my youngsters when they were home, and when she attended my brother-in-law’s church in Ontario. I was touched by this thoughtful gesture, and talked to Jerry of her taking the time to box up the gift, buy the card, write the note, go to the post office…all that, just to give me the pleasure of owning two fine cigar boxes.

You’re a great group of people out there, you the readers of my blog. Thank you. Thank you for reading my words, for thinking about issues with me, for being concerned about God, about the world, about our families, our children, and about our nation…and for indulging me in my frivolous–and probably sometimes silly–interests. It touches me deeply.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

6 thoughts on “A Friend and Cigar Boxes

  1. Jean

    She lives in E Peoria, IL…since 1975…has three daughters all married, one son…sophomore in HS and two granddaughters. I remember her talking of you boys.

    Like

  2. Jean

    My sister Jane (PJ) may be who you are thinking about. She is 53 and used to run with Dorothy Raney and some of the others.

    Could be. Where is PJ now?

    Like

  3. Hi, Jean–Welcome, and thank you again for the beautiful boxes.

    What will I do with them? First thing is that next week when we go to Crestline, they will be in the car with me to find their permanent home, which will be upstairs in what we call “The Picture Room.” Besides the thousands of pictures which are there, we have also mementos and souvenirs from traveling and from other special occasions.

    The cigar boxes will hold precious things–little notes and cards and who knows what else? Perhaps I will print a copy of the post that prompted you to make such a gift…maybe hang it on the wall…Then again, one of the boxes might reside in my study which is downstairs. You must stop by to see some time.

    It’s hard to imagine you’re nearing 60. I was thinking you were more near Steve’s age, who will be 51 in December.

    Like

  4. Jean

    Actually I am not all that much younger than you…I am pushing the hill just behind your hill…you know that 60 one…next year in fact.
    Now you get to figure out just what to put in those cigar boxes…pencils…pens…???
    Blessings to you and yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

