A Typewriter Stand for Carl Sandburg

I enjoy reading books that describe the writing process of well-known authors, or not so well-known ones for that matter. I haven’t bought any, nor checked out any at the library lately, but over the years, I have read such books and find them fascinating. I like to see early drafts with lined out sentences, scribbled over words, and I find it especially interesting if the author explains his reasoning for the changes he makes.

It intrigues me to know whether such writers use pen and paper or typewriter or, now, computer: the hours they keep, their writing spot, whether they need solitude or have the ability to write in the midst of a crowd of people. How do they edit? Can they edit their own work, or must someone else do that for them? Do they ever suffer from writer’s block, and if so, how do they rid themselves of that dreaded malady?

A few days ago, I was reading a very old Southern Living magazine, in which was an article about Carl Sandburg and that pictured the outside of his home in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. Also pictured was his cluttered office where he worked. Absolutely amazing was his typewriter stand: an orange crate. At this time in his life, Carl Sandburg was a successful, beloved poet who had been awarded two Pulitzer Prizes. Yet, in his office was a wooden box on which sat his black typewriter. I love it!

Southern Living says he “was happiest when surrounded by the rural quiet of a farm. For his last 22 years, Sandburg found that peace at Connemara…”

“If I live to a majestic old age becoming the owner of a farm, I shall sit under apple trees in the summer.” Carl Sandburg”

I’d like to hear about your writing techniques. Any of you have your computer on an orange crate?

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

One thought on “A Typewriter Stand for Carl Sandburg

  1. Oh I love this post! Whatever works for you to let your creative juices flow.

    Quickly my thoughts came to how influenced we can become by what standards others set, pictures of the world’s idea of “perfect”and “must haves” to ensure happiness and fulfillment. This generation is so confused about many “canons” in all areas of life.

    But I’m getting away from your question.
    For me, alone is better but not necessary. I often sit at my dining table with view of my yard during the day, still there at night at home. At work, where ever as long as Jean is asleep, but most of the time I’m next to her in the recliner by the sliding door. My laptop gives me almost total freedom (thanks to Sis Pryor who “egged me” on 🙂
    I’m a little more “picky” when it comes to card making. I really have to have quiet in the room. I’m terrible with paper and such don’t let me buy anymore! (but it takes less room than books 🙂 That, I put it aside – for now – I buy and give.

    Like

Leave a Reply

