Categories
Art/Architecture Photography Uncategorized

Winning Picture by Max Pickering

A few minutes ago, I came across this winning picture. It’s appeal to me is staggering and I wanted to share it with you. Actually you can click on the others and take a look at them too. The theme was SHELTERS. I also like 7 and 8. What are your favorites?

IMPORTANT UPDATE Oct. 2: Max Pickering has won the contest and has been named the BBC 2006 Photographer of the Year. Read more and see his personal picture here.

In picture

s: Shelter

9. Max Pickering: “This was inside the Arctic Circle in northern Finland. In the Arctic, when the temperature drops below -20C, everything stops. It’s like nature is holding her breath.”

Click below for more images

BACK

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

NEXT

By Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 84 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She was married to Jerry for 63 years, and grieves yet at his death in August of 2019. They have 4 children, 13 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)

21 replies on “Winning Picture by Max Pickering”

Hi, Max, and thank you for coming by here. We feel honored. There is something about your picture that appeals to the depth of my soul…not exactly sure what it is, but it gripped me when I first saw it. Thank you very much for sharing this with us. I definitely will visit your website, and hope you come here again.

Blessings,
Shirley

Like

Hi Shirley and to you all,
Glad you liked the picture, it was fun getting it! There’s some more info about it on the website.

It’s been amazing the number of people that have found it and taken the time to comment on it.

Thanks too for all of you who voted it int ofirst place
Kind regards
Max Pickering
http://www.maximagery.com

Like

Tena, The following from FAQ should solve your problem.

Posting Photos from Flickr

Flickr is a wonderful place where you can upload photos for free. They take care of resizing and can even leave notes and comments on each photo. What’s even better is that with just a few clicks, you can post a photo from Flickr onto your WordPress blog. Here’s how:

1. Sign up for a Flickr account
2. Log on to flickr.com and go to Your Account
3. Under the Blogging heading, click Your Blogs
4. Click Set up a new blog
5. Select WordPress blog and click Next
6. Enter the API endpoint:
http://yourblogname.wordpress.com/xmlrpc.php
7. Enter your WordPress.com login and password and click Next
8. Finish the form (it may have been changed)
9. When you want to blog a photo, look for the Blog This button right above it (you may have to click the photo first to make the buttons appear above it)
10. In the popup, click your blog’s name and finish the form that appears.

That’s all there is to it!

*
Additional Credits
o cornell
o drmike
o options
o ptvguy
*
Also check …..
o Support Forums
o WordPress Documentation
*

Like

I’m sorry to bother you with this, I’m so frustrated. I have Flickr. I put some pictures on it. I clicked on one picture, then clicked on “Blog this”. I entered my API endpoint and they keep saying: “The endpoint you have entered is not correct”. What username and password do I use? Thanks for your help.

Like

Hi Shirley, I posted areview of your book on my blog. Hope you like it. I e-mailed you, but it bounced, and I don’t have time right now to figure out why. I have to bake Bill’s birthday cake.

Like

Tena, I use Flickr to load my personal pictures onto my blog. Go to Flickr, join, (it’s free), upload your pictures, select one, and it will say, blog this? Say yes, it will set it up, give you a place to make comments, and snap it onto your site. Piece of cake.

I’ll check out number 6–can’t remember what it was.

Like

Number 6, without a second thought. I absolutely *LOVE* Italy! It has tugged at my heart and mind every since I visited 12 years ago.

Is it very difficult to put photos on your blog? I downloaded Pacasa2 last night, but didn’t know what to do next.

Like

Leave a comment