Mother’s Day 2017

Stephen Forrest Buxton is our eldest, thus it was his birth that made me a mother. Over the years followed Michael Ray, Rebecca Jean, and our caboose, Andrew Brian.

Often, I sit in my home and think of those four children of mine, and I must tell you sometimes I weep. I weep not for sadness, but for love, and awe, and thankfulness. How did it happen that these little rascals of Jerry’s and mine developed into the exceptional people they are? Often I am brought up short when I learn of their accomplishments, their gifts, their triumphant over adversity. None have been without challenge, but I tell you they have taken on the garment of upright people who are making positive contributions to society. They care deeply for their father and me; they assist and coddle us.DSC_7102

So, of course Mother’s Day is a significant one in my life. Let me tell you of yesterday. I began its celebration by jumping out of bed early, drinking coffee, and roaming about the house admiring the flowers and cards that had arrived from said youngsters and recalling the drama that Rebecca and I attended on Saturday. RUTH was the simple name of the Lighthouse Theatre production, so well done, so excellent that both Rebecca and I cried. After Jerry had been up a bit and we had our morning talk, I stripped our bed, washed and replaced the sheets, dusted both our bedroom and the living room, and vacuumed both the floors. I had a little time left before we would leave for church, so I went out back and planted our “farm.” Two tomato plants, three stalks of corn, and one bell pepper. The zucchini and yellow squash must wait until another day for I had used all the potting soil.

I subject you to the mundane list of my Sunday morning activities because I am thankful all my energy has returned! This time last year I was recovering from breast cancer and a subsequent mastectomy, chemo therapy, and 25 radiation treatments. The chemo knocked me winding sucking every bit of energy away from me. But now I’m well! My energy and strength are soaring. I’m extremely thankful.

DSC_7117

We met Rebecca at her church in Rialto; afterwards Jerry treated us to a delicious Mexican lunch at Hortensia’s.DSC_7080

DSC_7099

Early on in the church service the staff had sent a lovely orchid corsage to where I sat. Later, as Bishop Booker prepared to speak, he came to our pew, honored me with glowing words, and pressed a significant bill in my hand. Totally unexpected. Gracious and honorable. This morning, I placed water in this piece of carnival ware and floated the beautiful flower there.

DSC_7123When I called Mike to thank him for the present I had received, I teased him. “What did you send me, Mike? Do you know?”

“Uh, I used to, but I have forgotten.”

“A bird feeder. You sent me a beautiful porcelain bird feeder.”

We laughed together, for I know that most of my son’s wives actually buy such presents. Indeed Mike told me that Melina always shows him the present before she mails it to us, saying this is what we bought.

DSC_7115I’m still reveling in the beauty of the flowers and all the other ways my family (including my sweet hubby, Jerry) and friends honored me yesterday. I’ve wandered about the house taking pictures.

DSC_7111One more thing before I let you go! Another reason yesterday was special to me is that on Mother’s Day when I was 10 years old, I was filled with the Holy Ghost . . .and from that day to this God has lived in my heart. Is that not the coolest thing?

12 thoughts on “Mother’s Day 2017

  1. I am so happy for you that your energy has returned! I walked that road of chemo drain with my own mother and know how hard it was for her to just get out of bed some days. Although I must confess I have never done all that you did on a Sunday morning!

    I, too, received the Holy Ghost at the tender age of 10. Youth Camp 1974, Bethel in the Hills camp, Frazier Park, CA. It’s a great life living for the Lord!

    Like

  2. Charlotte

    Such beautiful words, and Mother’s Day for you is the special tribute that you are due. Although I don’t profess to know you well, I admire you greatly from afar. I am so grateful to God for allowing you to gain your energy back. You are such an awesome lady. You are truly a Proverbs 31 woman, whose children arise and call her “blessed”, and her husband trusts in her. I love you, Sis. Buxton. Happy Belated Mother’s Day. I received the Holy Ghost on May 1, 1965, when I was eleven years old!! Such a sweet gift.

    Like

  3. Hi Sis. Buxton,
    While reading this, I was stuck at….”After Jerry had been up a bit and we had our morning talk, I stripped our bed, washed and replaced the sheets, dusted both our bedroom and the living room, and vacuumed both the floors.” Who does all this BEFORE church?!?!? LOL!! WOW!!! You most certainly do have your energy back, you got up really, really, early! 🙂 Praise God! 🙂 Happy Mother’s Day lovely lady!

    Like

    1. So true, Mike. After I wrote that line I considered whether it might sound flippant or light. I decided though, that although the thought of God actually dwelling within our heart is of utmost spiritual concept, it also is very cool. It is down to earth, practical, and real. How blessed we are to have been made aware of such truth. Love you. Eager for our Memorial Day festivities!

      Like

Leave a Reply

