Day 1 of 16 with the Grands *Settle and Spaghetti*

Our trip home with the three grands on Sunday evening was smooth and uneventful. By mid-evening they were settled into their rooms and had stored their things. I was able to arrange drawers for Ella and Brady who are sharing an upstairs guest room, but in Cole’s room downstairs there are no drawers. “It’s no problem, Granny,” he assured me. “I’ll keep everything in my backpack.”

Shawnna had arranged their schoolwork with their teachers; Ella’s is in packet form, while the two boys work is assigned through the internet.

dsc_4414

Ella does her work on the dining room table, but close by is an antique secretary with a cubby where she places her supplies when she is not working. Ella is nine years old, in the fourth grade, and is an avid student who loves school.

dsc_4416

She also is extremely helpful and eager to work in the kitchen. For years she has been able to set the table, almost entirely by herself, even choosing table cloths, napkins, and placemats. We would be having spaghetti for dinner, so of course, she chose the butler dishes.

dsc_4417In one of the buffet drawers I have kept place cards she has made over the years, and for Pappy’s place she added a tiny violin, as well as a special ornament for each of us other four.

dsc_4420Brady poured olive oil and balsamic vinegar into the tiny butler dipping dishes.

dsc_4423You will never meet a sweeter person than Brady. On his last birthday he became a teenager, and is now in the 8th grade.

dsc_4421You see Cole there, bending over his Pappy to help with his computer? He looks almost exactly like Andrew, his father, did at that age, even down to the hair style. It startles me occasionally when I catch a glimpse of him in such a way that it appears to be Andrew. Cole is in the 10th grade. His long-term plans include an engineering degree, although I’m not sure, for I recall a few years ago when I asked what he wanted to be when he grew up and he replied, “I want to be a candy maker, Granny.”

The spaghetti dinner was delicious. My grands? Exceptional, wonderful, glorious, handsome, beautiful, smart . . .and mine! How blessed I am to have them for these few special days.

6 thoughts on “Day 1 of 16 with the Grands *Settle and Spaghetti*

  1. farrell forrest

    Sounds like your having a good time with your Grands. Enjoy, they grow up very quickly and then things change. I’m not saying for better or worse, they just change. I know you a very proud of them as well as you should be. Sounds like a good job of raising them by your family.

    Have fun and love to read your day to day events.

    Like

    1. So very true that the little ones grow up so quickly. At my skirts recently were my four children. I turned my head and they were gone! Love having these dear children with me. Wish you were here, too. I know they would love being around their Uncle Junior.

      Thanks for reading and responding.

      Like

    1. Andrew and Shawnna love Hawaii. They were there five years ago, which is the last time they had a vacation. I know they will have a great time. It was rainy yesterday, they reported.

      Thank you for reading and commenting on my posts. Blessings always.

      Like

Leave a Reply

