Pennsylvania Trip–Part 5

Yesterday was our last day for major sightseeing, for today we’ll be going to church, then gathering all our things this afternoon, for tomorrow we leave for home.

imageFirst thing in the morning, from his kitchen downstairs, my brother carried up this fine specialty ham. Processed, and shipped from Spain, the meat is cured so that it requires no refrigeration. The thin slices are delectable.

imageimage

In Pittsburg, we climbed onto one of these amphibious Duck Boats, which we rode for a tour through the beautiful downtown area. The architecture is stunning, a fine mix of modern buildings, and aged classic structures. Then our driver drove down a ramp, and straight into the water, where we passed many people cavorting about, having fun on this beautiful day. Pittsburg boasts more than 450 bridges.

imageimage

Major rivers play a significant part of the city which sets among hills and high bluffs. During the major “steel” era, many inclines were constructed to aid in the transportation system. imageA couple of them are still operational. We clattered to the top, then we indulged in very fine dining. Our table was set next to wide windows which gave to one of the most magnificent city views I have ever seen. Truly, an experience.

imageimage

…………..and the setting sun played against the magnificent skyline.

………..image

….and came the night.

3 thoughts on “Pennsylvania Trip–Part 5

  1. I just moved away from Pittsburgh about a year ago, and must admit that I really do miss living there. It was a great place to live, but was sadly getting a little too expensive to afford to rent an apartment there. We are now in a tiny little town a couple of hours away.

    I wish I had know sooner that you would have been there, I could have given you some great suggestions to places that were more off the beaten path, and not so “touristy.” Sadly I don’t get to sit and read my way through blogs nearly as I used to. These days I am very busy being an at home mom to a little one who will be turning three in a couple of weeks, and with my daughter living at home with us again, things are crazy busy. I always do love catching up with your blog though, even if I may not comment for ages and ages at a time.

    Like

  2. Rose Walrath

    Sis Shirley, Sam and I both enjoy so much your emails of your travels. Your pics almost bring us there. U and Bro Jerry look great. It is good to see the two of u enjoying life; u both deserve it. God bless u.

    Like

Leave a Reply

