Of Ron, A Cup, and Roses

Back from walking Winston this morning, Jerry carried in his hand, then set down on the deck as he dealt with the leash, a cup I recognized. The cup is from a long-ago trip when several friends traveled with us as we trekked all the way from the west coast to the east, where in Maine we ate lobster and drank coffee at the Maine Roaster Coffee place. Five couples, all in very long motorhomes towing vehicles, had the trip of a lifetime, and that fine mug you see here came to be part of our kitchen things in that way. “Motor homing” is in our past and some of the souvenir cups that once bounced around in frisky cupboards now reside in sedate, non-moving shelves in our kitchen.

20150521-untitled (3 of 8)

But here it was in Jerry’s hand on this foggy, chilly morning in Crestline. And in the cup were two perky roses.

It was Ron’s doing. He lives five or six houses down, and last week when he popped in for a word he accepted Jerry’s offer of a cup of coffee. I recall him walking out the door, holding the cup in the air. “I’ll get your cup back to you.”

20150521-untitled (1 of 5)

Neighbors. Sweet neighbors. Thoughtful neighbors. With few exceptions those are the caliber of persons who live here in our “neck of the woods.”

20150521-untitled (4 of 8)

Ron brought me great joy today by placing a couple of stems with roses and buds into the mug he had drunk from last week.

20150521-untitled (6 of 8)

I wasn’t satisfied by merely looking at these treasures, for surely something as exquisite as these deserved a snap or two by my fine Nikon.

And just so, I posed them. I thought of Ron and his wife, of neighborliness, of roses, of their beauty. Of God who made them.

20150521-untitled (2 of 8)

And I thought of you, and wanted to share.

8 thoughts on “Of Ron, A Cup, and Roses

  1. Sharon Hale

    Sis. B, I so enjoy reading your post, blogs etc. It makes me feel connected, funny, huh! You have a special place in my heart. I only wish I realized it in my younger years. I admire you so much!! You have always been such a positive influence in all you do. We need more like you! You are a beautiful Godly lady that has set a wonderful example for one to follow!! My prayers are for you & Bro. B to continue living a happy, peaceful healthy life! If you’re every our way, PLEASE call! I’ll leave the light on!! Love you!!! Sharon

    Date: Thu, 21 May 2015 21:17:00 +0000 To: shale_paris@hotmail.com

    Like

    1. Sharon, what a sweet comment you have left here; one that means more to me than you most likely think. Thank you. Thank you for your friendship. I admire your love for God, for His people, and for His church. And I do appreciate your reading my things, and especially for the comments. My love and blessings to you and your family.

      Like

Leave a Reply

