Words From Winston

Occasionally Winston and I discuss his part in my blog writing, and with sad brown eyes he emphasizes that a great period of time has passed since he has been allowed access to my computer, and he feels quite sure that many of you are wishing to hear from him. Sometimes as I sit on the couch in my living room and type on my computer, he sits beside me, and when he lifts a fuzzy white paw toward the keyboard, I know he is feeling creative, and is wishing I would let him have a turn.

Because of his very black face into which his dark eyes are plunged, Winston is hard to photograph. Yesterday, though, I snapped a few good shots of him, and when I loaded them today I decided this would be a fine moment to let Winston tell you about them.

20150210-untitled (5 of 12)

Winston here! Sir Winston of Crestline, I’m sure you recall.

My people have a thing about the trash. Well, I suppose I have a thing about it too, but they have quite a difference in opinion about the trash from mine: They even go to the extent of placing the trash baskets on top of the toilet fixtures in the bathrooms, so I can’t share them. The kitchen one is a compactor which I haven’t learned to manipulate, but the study! Oh, the trash can in the study is wonderful, and even though Mistress pushes it under the desk I easily get under there and knock it over. It’s a glorious place, mostly filled with paper, envelopes, used up pens, and cellophane pieces, along with an occasional Kleenex or paper towel. 

Early yesterday I visited the study, and when I left I looked behind me, and there scattered about was quite a trail of wonder; papers gathered all about the black plastic wastebasket I had tipped over. I knew Mistress would not like it, but I just couldn’t help myself, and maybe if I could figure out how I could scoop all the litter back into the can, but I just don’t know how to do that. Later, as I sat atop the stretched-out legs of Master who was reclining in his favorite chair, I had some moments of reflection. Mistress had taken me to the vet on Monday for boosters, and I was thinking about beautiful Dr.Nicole Stanclift, and all those stunning nurses . . . just remembering how sweet they all are, and how I didn’t bark, or yelp too loud when I got the shots . . .when I noticed Mistress heading toward the study.

20150210-untitled (6 of 12)

Now Mistress is not mean to me, never has been, but sometimes she gets really upset when I do a couple of things I shouldn’t, and she makes a loud voice. Same mouth as her regular one, but the sound that comes out scares me a little bit, and I know then I have done something wrong. Same thing with the trash can as when I nip at her to play: She says, “No Winston. You don’t bite.” and I try to tell her I’m not really biting, but I’m just wanting to play. I think she understands that for I hear her explaining to people about my nipping. The thing is I love Mistress and I don’t want her to be mad at me, and about the trash . . .I just don’t know what comes over me . . .

20150210-untitled (1 of 12)

One thing I’ve thought about is that I am so beautiful, and my people love me so much that sometimes when I’ve been a little naughty, I remind them of how lovely I am . . .like wagging my gorgeous fluff of a tail really fast, and looking at them in a very sweet way with my deep doggy eyes.

20150210-untitled (7 of 12)

4 thoughts on “Words From Winston

  1. Anonymous

    Good to hear from the Both of You!! Sis. Buxton, thank you for allowing us to hear from Sir Winston ….again! Thank you Sir Winston for the posing…you are a natural!

    Like

  2. Charlotte

    Dear Sister Buxton… I’m so glad to hear from you AND Sir Winston. I’ve missed him. This blog post is so precious. The pictures are so good of Winston, and I love “his” part of the blog. Please, let us hear from him more often! Love you!

    When I read this to Winston, Sister Charlotte, he looked me straight in the eye, and nudged me with a paw. The meaning was clear: “The readers of our blog want to hear from me. . .so there, how about a little more writing time?” Glad you read and comment on our blog.

    Like

  3. Anonymous

    Sir Winston. I’m your uncle and I live in another part of the United States.

    I enjoy your comments and read them when they appear on the part of the Internet that is known as “face book”. It does not really have a face as you and I know what a face is. You can have your mistress explain it to you.

    Any way, just wanted to tell you that you write a lot like my Sister and your mistress. I guess since my sister raised you, you would be taught by her. Again, really enjoy reading your message and do try to mind your manners as you have been taught.

    Come see your Uncle any time and wanted to tell you that you have 3 cousins here to play with.
    Oh, I almost forgot. You also have a very special Cat cousin named Gato.

    Dear Uncle Junior. Well, first thing I must say, while I appreciate the introduction, is that I just don’t like cats, and unless Gato is a different kind than the ones around here, I don’t know what I will do if I ever get the chance to visit. Maybe Gato is different, though, since we’re related. The dog cousins, I know I would dearly love.

    My people have talked about driving back to see you and have even considered taking me, even though I don’t like to ride in cars. Makes my ears hurt. Guess we’ll see.

    I’ll so glad you like my writing, and yes, Mistress is the one who taught me, which explains why I sound like her.

    You sound like a wonderful Uncle . . .can’t wait to meet you.

    Love, Winston (Sir Winston of Crestline, that is you understand.)

    Like

  4. RCowen

    Oh Mr. Winston, how I love you…. Come visit me…..

    Aunt Becky! I love you too and am lonesome for you. Probably see you on Friday morning for a bit.

    Love from Winston.

    Like

Leave a Reply

