A Moment of Thanks

Reluctantly I pulled the word from that dark place where it lives, for certainly I must examine its aspect and its whole being, knowing it was unwise–indeed impossible–to ignore what the doctor had spoken to me: “Mrs. Buxton, you may have cancer.”

I recall those moments in that cold ultrasound examining room (where I shivered so much until they gave me a warm blanket), and remembered when Dr. Mikhail spoke that sentence I did not feel overly anxious, nor did I have a sense of fear. I was calm as he pointed to the screen that showed multicolored wavy lines, and when he indicated the places of concern. In two weeks I would check into the Ontario Outpatient Surgical Center for a biopsy. “I don’t believe for sure it is cancer, but it could be,” he had finally said.

I told my husband and my four children that more testing was required, and although they probably sensed it was serious, I didn’t use the word cancer. I did ask one of my sons to be with Jerry while I was in surgery, knowing it would be a blow if the surgeon came out with a devastating report.

The Sunday before the procedure we attended church at Brother Claborn’s in San Bernardino. His sermon astonished me, and reminded me again how personal God is, and how He truly and absolutely keeps track of us, His children. He is divine, and this life we live is supernatural, unexplainable, definitely of another world. No doubt others in the congregation were ministered to that Sunday morning, but had I been the only one in the building, not one word would have been wasted, not one word would have been extraneous: instead the words flew as shot arrows to minister to those vulnerable places in my being, my heart, my soul, my emotions. During the altar service I whispered to Brother Claborn that I would have a procedure the next day for which I needed prayer. He laid hands on me and prayed.

The routine: Nothing by mouth after midnight, charming hospital gown, cute little paper hat, IV started, sweet nurses, visit by the surgeon, visit by the anesthesiologist, questions, answers . . . waiting. Finally they let Jerry and Andrew come where I was, and once I said to the nurse, “My husband and son will be praying for me before I go to surgery. Would you like to join us?” She smiled, and as we prayed she also did. “This opportunity has made my day,” she said to me. “Thank you.”

“Here’s your cocktail.” The friendly nurse grinned as she fed another medication into my system, and quickly I became woozy and hardly remember the gurney ride to the OR.

The procedure lasted about 20 minutes. The surgeon’s eyes were full of hope and his words were positive as he spoke to my husband and to Andrew. “I don’t believe there is cancer at all. We’ll know for sure when we receive the biopsy reports.

A few days ago I sat in one of those little rooms and watched the door open as Dr. Mikhail came in. He carried a sheaf of papers in his hand, later telling me they were my copies. “All benign, Mrs. Buxton. We biopsied three places. All benign.” He smiled. I smiled. We shook hands.

Today, I give thanks.

Β 

Β 

21 thoughts on “A Moment of Thanks

  1. Jamesandsharonatkison

    So greatful God has delivered you from the shadows of death. We don’t have to fear because our Shepherd is with us. His rod and staff comfort us. I love the 23rd Psalms. You and your husband are icons and a Legacy with high respects. You have been our true examples of leadership and Godly living. We give tribute to you and hold you in high esteem. Sister Buxton God gave you such wisdom and what you write is highly favored. Long live the Buxtons! we hold you dear in our hearts.
    I too went through the “cancer” question thing twice but I felt no evil. ( No fear) Great is Thy Faithfulness Lord unto me. The Atkisons from Delano

    In no way do I feel deserving of such accolades, but I sense your sincerity in offering them, and I do appreciate these noble words. Thank you for taking the time to read my pieces and to comment here. My sincere love and prayers.

    Like

  2. Wow!! Praise be to Jesus!! We serve a mighty God!! What an awesome report!

    Wow indeed! I’m thankful. Trusting all is well with all of you . . . especially little Maci. My love and prayers.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Danger of Comparison | God Things

  4. ChristTemple, Phoenix, AZ

    Praise God for his love and mercy. I was just thinking the other day that something may be wrong because you hadn’t posted anything lately. So glad to hear everything is alright!

    Thank you Christ Temple. Love all of you there in Phoenix. Onward in God’s business. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. THANK YOU JESUS!! So happy to hear all is well. Recently (just last Sunday) I had the same very personal experience with the sermon. Bro Copple’s words spoke directly to me. I needed to make some choices in my life and didn’t want to, my heart was breaking over the non-decision and my walk with God was suffering. Then Sunday I heard loud and clear words from God, my God, the God who loves me and all the grief and heartache has lifted. Again, let me shout THANK YOU JESUS for blessing me and keeping Sister Buxton healthy.

    Sister Buxton you have been such a blessing in my life. I love you and your family and pray for all of you often.

    Sandy, you are dear to me, and you definitely have my heart. So glad for your positive choices. So glad you have cast your ways toward God. Thank you sincerely for every prayer you have prayed for us. COME VISIT!

    Like

  6. so enjoyed your post this morning God is so good and always on time do love you and your family many yrs ago i to was healed of cancer hes fai thful love ya Iris Bisbal

    Good morning, dear friend. Love you and your family as well. Yep! A faithful, great God we serve. Thankful for all His blessings…..including your long-ago healing from cancer.

    Like

  7. dean godair

    Again I marvel at the Power of His Blood! Glory to the Lamb of God!

    Dean, I will never get over the fact that God has allowed me to be a part of this spectacular glorious life. I’m not sure if you know your wife posted the following on my facebook account concerning this situation of mine: “Praise God Sis Buxton..I was telling Dean not too long ago I feel like there is something wrong with Sis Buxton and we both prayed for you..You have been on my heart , so a big thank you Jesus love you so much”

    I ask you: How marvelous is this? How magnificent is our God!

    Like

  8. Teresa Bohannon

    Praising with you. I too have been there (more than once). God is so good to us.

    Sister Bohannon, I’m grateful, truly grateful. Thank you for reading here and for your comment.

    Like

  9. Dolores from IL.

    …. Yippy Praise God!!!

    Yippy! is a great word for today. God is great every day! Thank you for being here and for your comment.

    Like

  10. Jean Walter

    God knows right where we are and has every hair counted. I am rejoicing with you in the good report! Thank you Jesus!

    So true. So very true. Thank you for your love.

    Like

  11. Charlotte Mills

    Tears fill my eyes as I read this blog post. You’ve been on my mind so much lately. Today, I join you in saying, Thank You, Jesus!!! Love you so much!

    My friend! Thank you for being here. Thank you for thinking of me when I was in need! What a great God we serve. Trust all is well with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

