An Anniversary

It snowed, they say, that day in the deep south state of Louisiana when he was born. Now, here he is today 82 years old. Gerald Buxton, my hubby.

Image

We planned a simple day–some last minute shopping for our big trip that is just days away now, a stop at the pharmacy, a little business at the bank, and a run by Costco for fuel and for treats for Winston. Throughout the day our children called to wish him a happy day, as did several of the grandchildren

“I’m taking you out for dinner for your birthday,” I had told him previously and he decided on the Cheesecake Factory where he would order their Jambalya. But as the day wore on, and we were miles away from the designated restaurant, he talked himself into settling for Cocos which was much closer to home and where he would order the Oriental Chicken Salad. As we entered the restaurant, we both stared at the bountiful, beautiful pies in the glass case, and I said, “We could take one of those home for your birthday.” But through the meal as we ate our delicious food, we decided I would whip up a coconut cream pie at home.

I did.

Image

Winston whimpered. . .

Image. . .and because it was a party . . .

Image

. . . and because that little pup is spoiled . . . rotten, I tell you.

Image

Anyway, it’s Jerry’s birthday, and I cannot imagine my life without him . . .so, I’m wishing lots more pies and cakes. Many more celebrations–rare, elaborate, or simple. But there.

Image

9 thoughts on “An Anniversary

  1. Arthur (Johnny) Hodges

    Jerry, May God grant
    His Highest Blessings for ur Special Day! Thankful for ur close friendship down through the decades. I will catch with u April 24th.

    Like

  2. God’s miracles have brought you to this celebration, Rev. Buxton. With memories of Garden Grove historic church, your new home near ours in Irvine before I was whisked back to Louisiana for decades, and other more recent times of our paths crossing, I’ve watched you thrive on life’s journey. Sharing your homemade birthday pie with Sir Winston tops Cheesecake Factory and gives me one more special memory.

    Like

  3. RoseMary Kauffman

    A man with a great voice, both for preaching and singing. I remember Bro Buxton singing that song….into the ground a grain of wheat is fallen and is dead, but on some tomorrow the hungry will have bread…….Jesus Jesus you know what’s best for me…….I’ll go wherever you lead.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BRO BUXTON.

    Like

  4. Linda Cass Martin

    As a teenager remembered how much I loved your preaching, now as I am 69 years of age still love the old time preaching we heard in years gone by…. I want to wish you a wonderful happy birthday and year ahead to enjoy:))

    Linda, how sweet of you to take the time to post these great comments. I will definitely pass them on to my husband. Love and blessings….always.

    Like

  5. Carolynne Grogan

    A very happy birthday to Bro. Buxton! Many good memories we have of you very special folks! Love you both so much!

    Sister Grogan, Brother Buxton will definitely know of your good thoughts. Yes! What great memories we have of our time together in Garden Grove . . .and since. Love to all of you.

    Like

  6. Heidi Flowers

    Beautiful post! Happy Birthday to Bro Buxton!

    Thank you, Heidi. Blessings to all your family. Ever out our way? Come see us. We would LOVE that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

