A Text from Winston

It has been an unusual couple of weeks in the Buxton household. For one thing, Jerry and Andrew drove our motor home over to Lake Havasu where some work on the paint job is being done, and where then Michael will help us sell it. (Sadly, our motor home days are over . . .but what fun we had over the years in those extended road trips.) Anyway, during those four days, our Crestline home was inhabited only by Winston and me. Then my brother Mark became very ill and I flew to Missouri to be with my family for six days. A couple of days after I arrived home, I flew from the Ontario airport up here to Sacramento for the 31 annual Western District Ladies Conference.

So then, Winston and Jerry have been rattling around the house alone for many days . . .This morning, I received a text from Winston.

Dear Mistress:

Master and I are missing you quite badly and I’ve been feeling sad, and when I looked at Master this morning to inquire with my shiny round eyes about you, he picked me up, rubbed me under the chin and said, “Don’t worry. She’ll be home today!” The airport, he said. We’ll pick her up again at the airport . . . and I remembered last Tuesday night when you came back from Missouri we parked at the curb, Master got out, loaded in a suitcase, and then the passenger door opened, and there you were! I wiggled every part of my body, twirled my beautiful tail, patted your face with my white paws, licked you all over, and I tried to people talk to let you know how much I love you and how I missed you, but only doggy whimpers came out . . . but I think you understood.

I’ll be with Master this evening at 5:00 to pick you up, but I need to tell you one thing: I look different now, so I hope you’ll recognize me and not think I’m someone else. On Thursday afternoon, Master made an appointment at a doggie place here in Crestline and took me in for my first grooming. I’ll let you know all the details when you get home, but I want to let you know this: The long hair over my eyes is gone . . .so I know I must look really different. I’ve tried to tell Master I’d like to look in the mirror, but he doesn’t understand me. So, don’t be startled when you see me. One nice thing about the grooming bit–although frankly, I didn’t like a lot of it–is that I can see so much better now.

See you in a few hours.

With much love from your pup Winston. XOXO

(Hope you’ll hold me up in the bathroom so I can see myself in the mirror!)

2 thoughts on “A Text from Winston

  1. Dear Winston: I’m so glad you got a good grooming so you can see better, You will be cooler also. My girl Cassie always had a great day after her beauty treatments. She wanted so bad for me to let her know she was beautiful. I think your mistress will love the new you!! More kisses are in order for sure!!

    Be sure to tell your mistress to send your pictures here as soon as she can.
    You have an awesome mister and mistress, they love you so very much. You have written such enjoyable words here, we all love you too!!!

    Bye for now Winston, Cassie’s Mama

    Dear Cassie and Cassie’s Mama. My mistress is home now and she LOVES my new look. She was so excited when Master and I picked her up yesterday, she took me in her arms and into the airport to show her to a friend, Berni Cupoli. I think we’ll be doing pictures tomorrow, so you can show Cassie. Tell me more about Cassie . . . Don’t tell Mistress, but ‘m getting kind of interested in girls!

    Like

  2. Dean Godair

    Wonderful!

    Thank you, Dean. I’m so excited. Mistress tells me you’re coming to visit us. I’ll show you all my tricks when you come . . . maybe even bark at you. I don’t know what comes over me, but sometimes when different people come in our house, I bark. Master and Mistress tell me to stop, but sometimes I just can’t. Anyway…I’m eager to meet you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

