Seven Thousand and Counting

It grieved me to hear that a highly respected elder minister of the Gospel felt in good conscience he could no longer attend the church he had pastored for many years. The relative who had followed him as pastor has chosen a “new” gospel. The names lack significance. The message cracks with consequence.

As a counterpoint to the short piece above that I recently posted on Facebook, and which received many affirming comments, I present a young couple. Their names are Anthony and Shauna Allen.

ImageAnthony Allen is a young minister, and he and his darling wife stand as the antithesis of the relative noted in the paragraph above. On Sunday at the conclusion of their (and his parents) short visit in our home, Jerry spoke a short devotional.

Image

ImageAs I gave a final hug to Shauna, she spoke soft words me: It is such a blessing to be in a home where I feel so strongly the presence of God.

Image Our Sunday morning devotion in our living room ended in this way and I was reminded again that across the world there are innumerable honest, ethical, God-fearing people who are not deviating from the doctrines found in the Bible. Young ones, middle-aged ones, and older ones. I recalled that great prophet Elijah who once got to thinking he was the only one doing right. God rebuked him and cited 7000 who had not bowed their knees to Baal.

I smiled. . . and decided to tell you about it.

3 thoughts on “Seven Thousand and Counting

  1. I am grieved to listen to young relatives who were raised on the mission field speak of how social justice is more important than truth and how the Word of God is not God-breathed but full of errors and can only be interpreted in historical content. They embrace other religions as equal paths to God. It makes me so sad. Even sadder to know that this pattern is repeated across our world.

    My heart is with you as I consider those who would castigate the Holy Bible, especially after being reared in a godly environment. God help us.

    Thank you for reading my post, and especially for your comment. I hope you will return often.

    Blessings…….

    Like

  2. Yes indeed! The professor fears it may get worse before it gets better. What’d you think?

    First, professor, thank you for visiting my site and for leaving a comment. I would need to know exactly what “it” is before I can offer my take on your question.:) Hope you visit often.

    Like

  3. The gates of Hell shall not prevail!

    Thank you Brother Clay for reading my pieces and for taking the time to leave a comment here. I appreciate it greatly. And yes! The gates will NOT prevail. Blessings to you and yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

