Sage Buxton and Mary Birchett

During the morning as I contemplated that this is the day that will contain the ending moments of the year 2013, and as I thought of my considerable blessings during said year, indeed, throughout my entire life, my mind nuzzled down and settled on Sage.

ImageSage is eleven years old and is the daughter of Chris and Christina, which makes her my great-granddaughter. She is a changeling. Yesterday she climbed into this tree with her brother and boy cousins, and she grinned down at me as she held Winston, and as I snapped her picture. At other moments, though, it is evident that she will soon leave rank childhood behind, and in its place will embrace the lady-hood that is nipping at the hem of her skirt.

I stood in a large group gathered at the altar Sunday night, and in a few minutes I sensed that Sage had moved from her parents who also worshipped at the front of the church, and now sidled close to me. She wept. I laid one of my hands on her back, then she raised her own arms in worship, and I saw that she was crying. It was a precious moment as we stood together enveloped in the presence of God on the last Sunday of the year 2013.

Later I was reminded that Sage’s great, great, great grandmother, Mary Birchett, was also a recipient of the precious gift of the Holy Ghost, and that such a remarkable link, such a treasure of heritage has been passed not only to Sage, but to all my other great grandchildren. Have there been failures in our family? Of course. Is there shame in our family? Of course. But overriding this negative reality is the sure Word of God and His sure Spirit that has been protected and treasured by many in our family.

With joy I write this year-end missive, with joy I speak of God’s Spirit, and with joy do I celebrate my remarkable heritage.

Onward! 2014 stands at the door.

2 thoughts on “Sage Buxton and Mary Birchett

  1. HG

    Oh, Sis. Buxton, I LOVE this! Tonight I stood and worshiped as 2013 slipped away and we welcomed 2014. I was blessed to be standing next to Rebecca – my dearest sweetest most incredible friend of 41 years. Just a few feet away were our teenage sons; Ian, Nate, and Zachary – the best of friends – hugging and praying and wishing each other the best of new years.

    I am so proud to pass on the heritage that you & your husband and my Mom & Dad have passed down to Rebecca and me. I wish you could have heard the prayers of commitment prayed this evening by our boys. This precious treasure, this beautiful gift of the Holy Ghost, is in good hands. They understand what a beautiful heritage they have been given!

    Thank You!
    Thank you for this heritage, and for your incredible friendship.
    But most of all – thanks for Rebecca! She’s pretty awesome. And Nate too.

    Bring on 2014…

    All my love,
    HG

    Like

Leave a Reply

