Treasured Visit with the Enseys

If someone had said early yesterday, “The Enseys will be visiting at your home today,”  my face would have been a definite question mark. But through a chance phone call I learned these great people were here in California not far from us. I jumped at the opportunity–tapped out a facebook message to Sister Ensey, waited, she tapped back, plans rolled and in the middle of the afternoon here came these wonderful people, accompanied by Pastor Larry Booker who had driven them up the twisty, curvy road and into our driveway.

Image

Image

We talked . . . and talked. They admired our view of the mountains, and I told them what a blessing it is to live here, and I took them on a tour of the house, and from the back deck I showed them the remnant of my summer “farm” doings.

ImageThis beautiful woman of God laughed as we spoke of humorous times and of biscuits and gravy that she prepared in her home for us a few years back. We reminisced of days long gone, of mutual friends, of conferences near and far. We grieved together for those whose health has broken. We talked of book writing and book selling and getting rich at such, and together proclaimed NOT! We discussed computers and churches and needs and victories, and then she and I made coffee in the kitchen . . . and we all drank.

ImageOur granddaughter eighteen-year-old Chloe is with us this week, and when we knew the Enseys would be arriving within the hour at our place, I told her who they were, saying, “These are respected leaders in the Apostolic church world. You will be blessed to meet them,” and when Sister Ensey came in first and I introduced Chloe to her, that great woman wrapped her arms around my tender Chloe . . .and I could have cried. For I have long come to know that such moments–seemingly trivial and in danger of being brushed away as transitory and worthy of little note–are actually momentous times and should be marked with heavy ink in our souls and in our psyche.

“Ten hours a day, he studies and writes,” Sister Ensey told me of her husband. A prolific writer, a serious scholar, a leader among us, an exceptional Man of God is Jerry Ensey.

untitled (11 of 13)Our friend, Larry Booker, pastor of the church in Rialto that Jerry pastored before he retired is one of the finest preachers you will ever hear. HOWEVER, he is an abysmal photographer as is evidenced here as we four grouped on the deck in preparation for their leaving. “Here, use my camera too,” I said as Brother Booker had lined us up and would snap a shot with his phone.

But the picture is a treasure, as all of us with our eyes closed hooted and laughed.

“Here, let me take another shot,” Brother Booker had said, for he knew Jerry had bent way over.

The next shot was worse. I deleted it. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Treasured Visit with the Enseys

  1. Charlotte

    I agree with Tena that this photo is best!! Thank you for writing about your visits with your friends. I have met the Enseys and they are truly great people. We love Bro. Booker, too! I love reading about your visits because I can tell you truly treasure your friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

