The Cusp of Wonder

Edgy. I live on the edge, the glorious edge, where every day I am astonished—I never take it for granted—at the beauty, the success, the hint of the hereafter that surround me. For in all areas of my life I find myself balanced on the cusp of wonder. Rising from my bed in the predawn hours of the newest day, I finagle my clothes, flip on the coffee pot, and settle into my favorite chair in the dining room with its wide windows that look across the chasm of Lake Gregory to the untitled (4 of 4)trees of the alpine forest that rise as a standing army on the other side. I read, think, pray, write, contemplate, cry sometimes, and frequently take on a heavy feeling of compassion and concern, and my chest compresses, and at times my heart breaks, but there is nothing I can do about that. I smile occasionally, though, at what I read, and sometimes at my own thoughts. Jerry comes and I pour his coffee, or he pours his own, and he sits in his chair . . .

“It’s just over 70 miles to Palmdale,” was the first thing I said to him this morning as he stood by the coffee pot, “but it will take us about two hours to get there.” He sweetly grunts, (his becoming fully awake is a slow process that can’t be rushed) and hugs and kisses me.

Other points of wonder around me go to political insanities which daily assault my listening ears, disappointment that my beautiful squash plants produced only gigantic yellow blossoms but no zucchini or yellow squash, and discussions with Jerry about buying some kind of screen to secure over the tubs and pots where I will untitled (3 of 4)again plant spring-flowering bulbs. The screen bit is in hopes of keeping the mountain critters, throughout the winter, from filling their little bellies with dinners of un-blossomed tulips, hyacinths, and allium.

Drops of anointing will splash about me during the next many hours, for we are off to Lancaster today to help celebrate with Pastor Sean Manzano and his family the 7th anniversary of the founding of Rushing Wind Worship Center.

We’re leaving early–around noon–for I want to take a little time to photograph the Mormon Rocks and the trains that are always chugging around that area. The massive rock formation is named for a group of Mormons who traveled through the Cajon Pass in covered wagons on their way from Salt Lake to southern California. We’ll get to our hotel room in time to rest a bit before the service tonight.

I live on the cusp of wonder. Tonight I will sit with life-long friends in a congregation of Apostolic believers, and we will worship and sing and listen and talk. There will be a rush of the Spirit of God, and we will clap and rejoice, and around me will settle as points of light the holy presence of God.

We’ll be tired tonight, Jerry and I, and I will lie on my bed ready to fall asleep, and as I often do, I will think of the comfort of sleep and rest. . . and will anticipate the morning, another day on the edge of wonder.

 

9 thoughts on “The Cusp of Wonder

  1. kawipaul

    Shirley, we are interested in using one of your photographs on our wall at one of our dealerships. It is the photo featuring a shot of the superstition mountains (An amazing picture) Please let me know if this is something you would consider. paul@kellyskawasaki.com – 602-326-8370.

    Thank you for visiting my site and showing interest in my work. I have sent you an email.

    Blessings…….

    Like

  2. Betty Parkey

    Peace portrayed perfectly!

    Thank you for that sweet compliment, Sister Parkey. Peace. Just the word has a sound of comfort. Remember that old song, Peace, peace, wonderful peace, coming down from the Father above…..” Love that song.

    And thank you for leaving a comment here rather than on facebook. I really prefer that; seems better organized that way.

    Like

  3. Beautiful, peaceful post. Thank you for sharing. I appreciate your writings more than I can express. Please never stop. And I enjoy looking at your photos. The world needs you, Sis. Shirley Buxton. 🙂 i♥u

    Tena, if I should ever fall into a pit of depression, I would call you and say, “Tell me again all those sweet things you have said over the years!” I do appreciate them and don’t take them lightly.

    Be hearing your pastor preach during these services in Lancaster.

    And thank you for leaving a comment here rather than on facebook. I really prefer that; seems better organized that way.

    Like

  4. Loved your post. Your writing has blessed me greatly. Keep up the good work.

    Thank you for your compliments. Glad we are able to bless each other. And thank you for leaving a comment here rather than on facebook. I really prefer that; seems better organized that way.

    Like

  5. Ahh…Sis. Buxton. . Love Your blogs. . Love you, thanks for allowing me to take part in your life!!
    Cherie

    Cherie, you sweetheart—probably the best mama in the world—thank you. I love you, admire your zest for parenting . . . and for life.

    And thank you for leaving a comment here rather than on facebook. I really prefer that; seems better organized that way.

    Like

  6. I love your writings. You don’t just share what your doing or what you’ve done but you share all of you! Your feelings about it all, about life tells me so much more in your beautiful words. Thank you Sis. Shirley, I love you.

    You are so sweet to take the time to comment here, and I do appreciate your insight. I believe we help each other more if we are open and “real” with our feelings.

    And thank you for leaving a comment here rather than on facebook. I really prefer that; seems better organized that way.

    Like

  7. Well your day is planned. Beautiful pictures with beautiful thoughts.Thank-you for sharing and have a great trip.

    Thank you Melina for consistently reading my things and for the comments. We’re now settled in the Hampton Inn in Palmdale. Love you so much……

    Like

  8. Jana

    Beautiful!

    Thank you, Jana. And thank you for leaving a comment here rather than on facebook. I really prefer that; seems better organized that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

