A Particular Day

Relationships are the nib and ink whose line pivots to mark the canvas of our lives. Rich are we whose relationships are many and varied; relationships of differing tones, of diverse depth–some many-layered, others thin, a mere wisp as we pass on this universal trail. Congruent–and inevitable–concerning those with which we have a rich connection is certain pain and certain joy. For of such is life, and those who can bear truth must speak these words. Only those so inclined will dare.

Image

I looked across the table yesterday and admired Shawnna, the wife of our youngest child, Andrew. Yesterday was her birthday–her 41st, so Jerry and I traveled down to San Diego to have breakfast/lunch with Shawnna, Andrew and two of their children, Chloe and Gentry. Andrew chose a place in beautiful Point Loma, and we sat at little round tables near the sidewalk for a couple of hours, munching and talking.

Shawnna has never said an unkind word to me in the more than 20 years that now she has been a part of the Buxton family. She is elegant, tall and willowy and is of a distinct and quiet bearing. She is intelligent. She is a loyal wife, and when their family has faced significant challenges, she has not once complained within my earshot. She has birthed five exceptional children. I’ve never seen one of her babies dirty or neglected.

Image

“Look at these little vases,” she said to me across the table, and she lifted the tiny arrangement, its orange flower aglow in the ocean air, for of the small she can take notice.

A man walked past us as he left the cafe, dressed in white from head to toe. To Andrew I said, “Wonder what his occupation is?”

“Rich. That’s real. He’s probably very rich.” And on the way to our car, I saw the man again. “His chauffeur is picking him up,” Andrew said. ImageI wondered at his life–his pain, his joy.

A tremendous conclusion to a delightful day was that we brought Chloe and Gentry home with us, and in San Bernardino we stopped by Rebecca’s house, took in three pizzas from Pizza Hut, ate them, swooped up Nathaniel, and roared up Highway 18 to 138, to our home in beautiful Crestline.

We laid easy plans last night for the three teen-age grandchildren. They’re going to the lake today, taking food and fishing poles, and money to rent little boats. Right now, though, they’re still asleep. So much for early morning adventure.

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “A Particular Day

  1. Rebecca Hampton Barnette

    Thank you so much for sharing your family with us because it’s been 40 yrs. since I’ve seen you. Stephen was only 2yrs. old when we moved back to Arkansas. Andrew was small the best I remember, too. I enjoyed knowing you’ll for about 10yrs. in California & this is a real treat to see your family & hear how they are involved in the work of The Lord. What a blessing. Love, Becky

    Won’t it be great when we get to Heaven . . . spend eternity together. Blessings always to you and yours.

    Like

  2. I love this! Thank you for sharing! I love both of these photos and I love the people in them VERY much. The one with those kids! Wow! They are so OLD now! Lol!

    I know you all with have a blast these next few days making unforgettable memories. I wish I had a grandma like you. Can I adopt you as my grandma? 😉

    Of course, Tena, I will adapt and become your granny. You do know, however, I make a few little demands along with the petting and spoiling . . . chores, decent room . . . such as that. 🙂

    Think about this, though. Probably within a few years, you will be the granny!

    You’re so right about the youngsters growing up, and when I have them here for a while I always recall what seems only yesterday when I had to wipe their noses (and other places)…as they were babies. In the car today as we headed for the lake, they talked about wanting cars, what kind, etc., and I added my lesson on industry with talk of jobs and the cost of insurance, maintenance and such……Truly they are all at change-points. Exciting for them, but a little frightening at the same time.

    Thanks for the visit and the kind words. Love……always.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful day and wonderful life you’re living! Enjoy your thoughts!

    Thank you Linda for visiting here, and for noting what a great life God has given me. I enjoy your words as well. . . blessings always..

    Like

Leave a Reply

