The Sabbath Hummingbird

In twenty minutes it would be time to leave for Sunday morning worship. “I’m going down with my camera and watch the birds,” I told Jerry yesterday. “I’m ready to go when you are.”

Image

I settled myself in a lawn chair about eight feet from the wide bird bath where the timer had turned on the fountain and where the water was now softly bubbling. The morning was calm; perfect, with a temperature in the low 70s and with a breeze that caught in the high trees and that ruffled about the scarlet and pink and orange flower petals on the plants in the stone urns and in the hanging baskets. As I have done numerous time, I admired the lines and shadows of the bird bath with its flat water that was routinely interrupted by the bubbles that escaped from the top and fell below.

Image

Suddenly, it was there–a hummingbird, its beat of wings so rapid that it was beyond the comprehension of my eyesight, and so to me was a fluttering blur. The bird swooped, flew away, then back, then finally into the bowl, splashing about for its Sunday morning ablutions.

Image

I watched, then that jewel of a bird was gone.

Image

Do you recall that Scripture says God is aware of every sparrow that falls? ….really? I suspect then, that He sees me this morning, knows of my day, my challenges, the decisions I must make . . . my successes . . . my failures.

_____________________________

New post on my photography blog: http://shirleybuxtonphotography.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/the-beauty-of-youth/

 

6 thoughts on “The Sabbath Hummingbird

  1. Yes, please don’t neglect us here. Your writing is so beautiful and uplifting. Love the hummingbird photos.

    Isn’t that hummingbird the neatest thing! Good to hear from you. Blessings on your life.

    Like

  2. Love Hummingbirds, great job capturing him for your story. Awesome!

    For some reason, we’ve never seen many hummingbirds here on our property. Think they’re over at Ken and Nancy’s where they have feeders hung. They are gorgeous birds…feisty little things…seem to fight each other easily…………love

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Beauty of Youth | Shirley Buxton's Photography

  4. Anonymous

    Your words touch my heart with every thing you write. God definitely has given you wisdom and knowledge to put into words that so many of us can seen to put ours to words.

    Very sweet and kind words that I appreciate so much. Do I know you?

    Like

  5. Anonymous

    Welcome back. Shirley. I missed your bogs. Every day I check
    And was so happy to see you. Love your writings.
    Sis Baglin

    Uhmmm…not sure which Sister Baglin this is, but thank you anyway. I post several times a week on facebook, and since I’ve started doing that, I have neglected my blogs…..Easier on FB and more followers……Try to reform. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

