Categories
Evil Firearms Grief Photography

Too Close

untitled (12 of 12)

“Will you roll down your back windows, sir?” The policeman, gun drawn, spoke to Jerry this afternoon as he peered into our car on highway 18 in the San Bernardino mountains. Two policemen went to the back of our car, guns drawn, pulled open the back and peered inside.

We had pulled from our driveway around 1:00, heading down the mountains to an appointment in Fontana, 40 minutes or so away. We had not heard that at 12:30, a woman from Big Bear called the police to say she had just escaped from being tied up by Chris Dorner. Then we heard the shocking news that again untitled (3 of 12)this morning he had shot two more policemen. One of them–the father of a young baby–died a few hours ago at Loma Linda University Medical Center. The other policeman spent hours in surgery, but is expected to recover. Now the police had roadblocks at all the highways leading to and from the mountain communities.

The traffic had come to a complete and abrupt halt about 50 minutes before we reached the roadblock that was strewn with policemen, police cars, long guns and pistols. At first, we thought there must have been an accident, then from our car radio we hearduntitled (9 of 12) the breaking news that made us suspect our traffic stall might be connected with Chris Dorner.

All the mountain roads were closed for hours. I called our daughter, Rebecca, who lives in San Bernardino and made plans to go to her place after our appointment. Fortunately, though, around 4:30 our highway opened and as soon as we could, we roared up the hill. Made it home just after dark.

It is likely that Chris Dorner is now lying dead in a smoldering cabin in Big Bear. The mountains are crawling with policemen, and although they are still following up on untitled (5 of 12)other leads, according to the news, they believe he is in a cabin that has been burned to the ground. They have not recovered a body. The fire site is still too hot to be entered.

I’ll be going to bed soon. As I do I am thinking of Chris Dorner, of whom I wrote in a post a few days ago, and noted him as saying, “I do not fear death, as I died long ago.” And his mother . . . tonight I think of her, and grieve.

untitled (11 of 12)

___________________________________________________________________________UPDATE Update Wednesday 2/13: A body is seen, but has not been removed from the cabin. Positive identification has not been made but officials believe the person to be Chris Dorner.

By Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 84 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She was married to Jerry for 63 years, and grieves yet at his death in August of 2019. They have 4 children, 13 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)

6 replies on “Too Close”

I’ve prayed often for your safety this past week. Hopefully, this sad scene has come to an end. Prayers to all of the families of the victims and to the family of the perpetrator of this situation.

Thank you, Anna. Love and blessings.

Like

Glad your ok. But it’s such a sad story. Thankful for hope, or else my life could have been different.

Nancy! How could we live without hope.Thank you for taking the time to comment. Love you so much. Kisses and hugs to all of you.

Like

I was thinking about you all day and praying that you and hubby were okay…..felt peace about it. Yes, as a mother of a son who murdered another individual, I grieve for Dorner’s mother and family. It affects all of them for the rest of their lives. God bless you Sis. Shirley. I read your writings and they pull at my heart strings everytime. You are truly annointed woman of God. I am the sister of Esther Rummel as you probably know. I miss Shawna on FB so much! Love and hugs, Naomi Dixon…Loveland, Colorado

Naomi, I did not know–or had forgotten–about your son. It makes me cry at the moment. I am so sorry. Just cannot image. How precious, though, is God to us at such a time. I pray you have peace. My love…..

Like

Leave a comment