Of Chance

When a person is successful; healthy, has plenty of money, and contributes to society, we can rightly say he has been blessed by God. The converse is not true; some people have ill health, never have enough money, and their ministries never seem to excel, yet they too may be blessed of God, and may be doing everything exactly right. It is even possible–quite likely–that some members of the first group are not doing their best, and they may not be following the path God has laid out for them.

untitled (23 of 48)

Chance plays a big role in our lives: The families into which we are born, opportunities that may or may not present themselves, disease and accident which stalk us or ignore us, our innate intellect, the teachers who are assigned to our classrooms, the preacher who stands in our pulpit; the country of our birth and its government, the crust of bread we are given for the day, or more likely of those who read here, the whole buttered loaf. Much is of chance.

___________________

What of you? I would so enjoy hearing your response to this subject. Agree with me? Disagree? Why?  Thank you for your time here.

5 thoughts on “Of Chance

  1. Because of Chance and God’s guidance I have the life I live today…..many years ago I suppose it was chance that made a wonderful family named “Buxton” move into my neighborhood. This family taught me about God and the way to salvation. Many years later “chance” had me visiting my parents and standing on the driveway talking to my Dad as their son Michael drove thru the neighborhood showing is new wife the house they lived in when he was a teenager. Michael saw me talking to my Dad and stopped the car in the middle of the road and ran over to hug me and say hello. At that moment my life changed forever. Michael told me about their church in Rialto and said I should visit someday. Well, I did visit the church. That church is where I met my ex-husband and then had my son.
    Had the Buxton family not taken the chance and listened to God, they would have not moved into my neighborhood and given me the chance to have raised my beautiful 23 year old son.

    Perhaps I cry too easily–I don’t know–but when I saw who was writing this and what you were saying I tried to read it out loud to Jerry, but my voice broke, and I continue crying now. Thank you Sandy for such sweet and profound words. What a joy it was to have you as a neighbor. What a joy it was for you to go to church with us and receive the wonderful gift of the Holy Ghost.

    Our family loves you dearly. So does God–you know that–and you belong to Him.

    My heart……

    Like

  2. PSM 34:19 says, “Many are the afflictions of the righteous—-.” Man looks on the outward – God looks on the heart. Many godly righteous people have suffered greatly in doing the will of God in their lives. It’s sad that many in the church judge according to the amount of wealth. Good thought to ponder.

    Thank you for being here, Carol, and for leaving this comment. The most grievous part of this subject for me is when I think of those who are absolutely doing their best–giving their all, and yet they cannot seem to grasp the success they want or need. I so feel for such people. Quiet, perhaps, inwardly wondering what it all means.

    Not to forget, of course, that some of us must be honest and know our lack of success is a reflection of poor judgment, wrong choices, laziness, …and on….

    Blessings…

    Like

  3. dean

    Kind of makes us step back and say…What is a successful life? I am so glad that God and man do NOT agree on the definition. Peace

    Hello, Friend. For sure, we cannot completely judge what is a successful life. Clues, ideas, but lots of mystery. Love…..

    Like

  4. Kathy McElhaney

    The disease hemophilia runs in my family. The odds are 25% with each pregnancy when only the mother is a carrier. In our family there are 2 girls and 2 boys – one boy was born with that disease. Chance happened to him. He only lived 31 short years, but he was, and still is, my hero. He overcame every obstacle that came his way. He lived life with a smile, in spite of great pain. He sang with anointing. He acted in dramas with passion. Many looked on him with pity, UNTIL they got to know him. Inside his frail body pumped the largest heart, an extreme sense of humor, a quick mind and compassion for others. Nearly 19 years later I miss him very much.

    Thank you for this touching post. A very real aspect of such a story is how your family was blessed by what in many ways was a tragedy–pain, short life, etc. Thank you for your comment. I do appreciate it.

    Like

  5. Gerald Buxton

    The Preacher in Ecc, said,..””.time and chance happens to us all”. It”s what we do with them. Look at Matt. 6:33.

    So true. Some, though, take the bitter things handed them and make great successes of their lives despite those. Someone, such as you.🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

