Open Letter to Governor Mitt Romney

Dear Governor Romney:

I am 74 years old and have never before written to a government official. I am 74 years old and have never before written anything that resembles a fan letter. Today, though, with a grieving heart, I do both.

On Tuesday evening, Jerry and I sat in our living room to follow the election results. As the wretched end of the election became clear, a heavy cloud of depression enveloped our living room, an emotion that neither of us are prone to incur. It was as though the air had been sucked from around us.

My husband is a retired Pentecostal preacher, and as such, our religious beliefs differ strikingly from yours as a Mormon. From the beginning of the campaign, though, we understood that we would vote for you–not as a pastor or any other religious leader–but as the president of the United States. As we learned more of you and your family through the debates, your speeches, interviews, videos and various articles, we came to highly respect you, your ethics, your dream for America, and your history. Would that America were filled with such caring, giving, and classy families as yours. In all sincerity, do I say this.

For the most part now, your faces are gone from the news sources. Disappeared. And I wonder about you . . . and yours. How sad are you? Do you weep? Are you desolate? As leaden as is my heart–I, just an ordinary voter–I suspect your pain–you, the candidate for the presidency–to be dire. So, I come today to remind you that at least half of America wanted you for our president. At least half of us are hard-working, upstanding Americans. We take care of each other. We don’t abort our babies, nor do we marry people of the same sex. We don’t want the government to take care of us, we don’t want Obamacare, we don’t want higher taxes and more regulations, nor do we want the president that some misguided people elected into that office. But we have him, and we will respect the office, and we will work for the advancement of the United States of America.

I wish you well, as do millions more. We will not forget your graciousness. We will not forget the pieces of your life that you left scattered in the field. Our dreams will not die, and although our great country seems to have lost her way, and we stagger now in a dark place, our hope is not gone. We look to God and to the innate goodness of America. And still, let us hope that someday we can regain our place as the last great hope of the earth.

Thank you for what you gave.

Shirley Buxton


If you read this and have such thoughts about Mitt Romney, it would be great if you would leave a comment here.

32 thoughts on “Open Letter to Governor Mitt Romney

  1. Joe Roberts

    I am pentecostal also. I could not have said it any better myself. Thanks for the letter. I hope Mr. Romney reads this letter. He would have done a super job.

    Yes, he would have done a “super job.” I was so touched, when in his concession speech, Governor Romney said in endearing tones concerning his wife, “She would have made a wonderful first lady.” Unfortunately, that is not to be.

    Thank you for your comment.


  2. Sis. Buxton, You have said perfectly what all good, moral and upstanding people of The USA have wanted to say to Mr. Romney and his whole family. We prayed for him to be our President, but it was not to be. We are living in perilous times and need to make our calling and election sure. Our trust can only live in Jesus Christ. God was not shocked at how the race ended. He knew before us how this was to be. It has mad a good many people open thier eyes and realize they had better trust the only one that can make all things right. I deeply admire you for speaking up.I am of your same belief and count it an honor to stand with you.

    Thank you so much for your comment. We must continue to stand up for truth and do all we can to spread the word around the world.



  3. Jana

    Wow. I wholeheartedly agree. I am deeply saddened by the direction our country is heading and so hoped for Romney to take office.

    Thanks, Jana, for being here and for your comments. Blessings…..always!


  4. Pat Gilliss

    Dear Mr Romney,I feel like we have been cheated out of a wonderful chance to be a great nation again. I know you would have brought some real class back into the White House. You have the brains to get us out of this mess,and I am in mourning. We all know you should have won!! I was praying for a chance to just sit down with you and your wife to let you know how much I loved you both.I would give anything just to meet you. Maybe God knew you was to nice of a person to have to deal with what is to come. The endtime is nearing and God will have HIS way,I read on facebook and agree, no matter who is President Jesus will still be KING! I am so sorry we lost I will continue praying for you all.God Is with you My Dear Friends Always! and Forever Pat Gilliss Author of You Asked God For WHAT?!

    Pat, you speak the sentiments of so many when you observed that we have been cheated out of having Mitt Romney as our president. Thank you for posting such thoughtful remarks here.



  5. Arthur Hodges Jr

    Shirley, this is magnificent. Let’s hope someone knows how & will get it to the Governor! Your friend, Johnny Hodges,

    Sent from my iPhone

    Johnny Hodges, this compliment from you means a great deal to me. Through the years your brilliant mind has impressed me, and I’ve always noted you to be an exceptional preacher. Now, physically, we are weaker, and the “rough and tumble” work must be left to others. Yet, does not our passion for righteousness and godliness remain?

    I’m with you; hope someone can pass along our sentiments to the beautiful–no doubt grieving–Romney family.

    Blessings to you and Nita.


  6. Matthew Robinson

    Dear Governor Romney,

    The open letter, above, states my feelings better than anything I could express.

    Thank you for your response, Matthew. God bless you.


  7. Lynda

    While your letter is well written and I respect your beliefs, I am no more “misguided” in my beliefs or my vote than you are. We each have one vote to cast, and as long as we participate in the process that is all one can do. More than half of the U.S. Have spoken and we have a president. If Mr. Romney, (whom I have great respect for) had won the election I would support him, and want him to be a great and successful president. He did not win, so, I will continue to support President Obama, and I want him to be a great and successful president. Respectfully yours.

    🙂 Lynda, thank you so much for reading my post and for taking the time to leave a comment, and for the compliment.

    The two candidates and the two “halves” of America had conflicting thoughts as to the way our country should go–one for bigger government, one for smaller government, one for abortions on demand, one rejecting that notion . . .and on. . .One party believes the other party to be misguided; otherwise their platforms would be the same. Such is true with you and me; I believe you are misguided–or else I would take on your philosophy; you believe I am misguided–or else you would take on my philosophy.

    We agree, though, that once the president is elected, we will support him and certainly wish him to lead the country successfully. That does not preclude our continuing to object in a civil and thoughtful way to actions that seem detrimental to the greatest country in the world–the United States of America.

    Again, thank you for your comment. I respect your right to state your opinion.

    Blessings on you and yours.


  8. Diane Tomich

    This is a very well written, heart felt letter. Because of the anger I feel right now for all who voted for obama, I could not be as gracious as you. Now I deal with guilt for this anger I feel, knowing it is far from Christian. It is people like you who keep God’s love alive in hearts like mine that need a jump start. Thankyou!

    Hey, don’t feel guilty. Scripture says, “Be angry and sin not.” (Didn’t check the reference so that may be inexact.😦 ) Think about it: Jesus once grew so angry–I suppose He was angry–for He got the material He needed, made Himself a whip, and tore into the temple, upsetting tables, and creating quite a stir. Wish I could have seen that!



  9. Charlotte Mills

    Thank you, Sister Buxton, for this beautifully written letter, and like others, I hope Mitt Romney gets to read it. I can only imagine the encouragement he will gain from your letter. God bless you and yours; and God bless America again!! Love you!

    Yes! God bless us, everyone. Love.


  10. Thank you Sis. Buxton for those perfect words from your heart. I too am a Ministers wife. My husband and myself were not able to sleep election night. We felt such a heaviness in our hearts. We felt so confident that Mr. Romney would win. However, we must put more emphasis into our fervent prayer to our Great and Powerful God….Praying…for our Great America.

    Thank you so much for your being here and for your complimentary remarks. I agree: We must keep praying for our great country.


  11. Mary Jeane

    I have cried everyday since the election. It never enter my mind that he would lose (I mean how could he). I too wish God’s blessing’s upon Mitt Romney and his family. He and his family stood in the path of a nation headed toward destruction, but the world would not pause to wander her path, now that time has come and gone. My father was a United Pentecostal Preacher, so I can relate to the fears.Your letter made me want to hug you…Thanks for sharing….I will actually miss seeing Mitt Romney and his wife in the news such refreshment from the same old drum mill we see daily…..God bless you and Yours as well…..

    Mary Jeane, thank you for sharing. I agree: the Romneys were such a refreshing couple.

    Blessings to you and yours.


  12. Nita Rogers Jacobs

    I am so thankful you were able to put into words what half of this wonderful United States of America feels. I do believe I felt the pain from Mr. Romney as he was speaking. Thankful for the solid rock, “Jesus”, to stand on.

    Nita, I am heartsick, and cannot even image what the Romneys are feeling at this time. But you’re right: “On Christ the solid rock I stand. All other ground is sinking sand…”

    Love you. Thank you for the kind words.


  13. Mary Elder

    We put our trust in God and not man, but we respect the morals that Mitt Romney stood 4. May God bless him and his family for all their efforrts and most of all May God Bless America. We need to pray for our leaders and our country.

    Yes, our trust is in God. How thankful I am that is so. Bless you for your concern and for your prayers.



    Sis. Buxton:
    Tho’ I don’t know you yet; we are Sisters In Christ and I will someday! I am so proud of you for speaking up and so beautifully too! I do hope Mr. Romney sees this! And like I read on FB: No matter who is President; God is still King!!! And we can trust Him!!! And with at least 50% praying, “God’s Will be done!” I’m sure He will answer our prayers! In His Way and in His Own Time! Thanks for putting our heart-felt thoughts into words!!!

    Karey, thank you for commenting here on my blog. And yes! Jesus is still king!

    Bless you.


  15. Doesn’t faith of believers accept our circumstances are God’ Will, whether WE can accept them or not? Doesn’t God’s Will prevail……or do we only believe what we choose to accept? Aren’t we bound to trust Him if we truly believe? Material and worldly circumstances are all governed by His generous Providence, whether we agree with the world’s outcomes or not. At least, I believe so. Blessings to each of you.

    One of the great questions of the world


  16. Sandra Sammons

    Well said Shirley….wow!!! I carry the same feelings for this election. Thank you conveying your feelings and those of so many of us.

    Thank you Sandra for being here and for your comment. God bless you always.


  17. arm5

    I whole heartedly agree with you. But God knows what he is doing.i do believe once people figure out they will be taxed to death underneath his healthcare plan they may turn on him.

    For sure God knows what He is doing. Great consolation there. Our president was voted in for 4 more years. Little to nothing we can do about that, no matter how it develops. Just prayer.

    Bless you and your family.


  18. Very well said and from your heart and ours. God Bless you and God Bless America…

    Thank you Brother Doran. And yes! We need God to bless our country. We need His help, His guidance. We must turn to Him.


  19. Rayford Strange

    Beautiful letter written with beautiful sentiments that so many of us feel. Thank you dear lady for expressing our thoughts and emotions so well. Today, so many Americans are in mourning for the loss and for the uncertainty of a future that hold little prospect of continued divine prosperity. I feel that except there be a divine intervention from the portals of heaven, we are now to enter into that thousand years of darkness.

    Thank you for your compliments. I agree that we are truly in the hand of God. How I pray for His intervention.



  20. And now it’s timely to put aside depression, contribute to positive efforts to work together as citizens of a great America…to stop feeding division and to pray all branches of government are responsible and mature to join conversation and decisions that will improve our country’s status. Know that our problems have been long time in the making and will take more than “4 more years” to resolve them, end wartime stresses and grow again. If that IS God’s will….

    Thank you for being here, and yes! you’re right, we must put aside our hurts and get back to work to see that our country recovers. And certainly some of these problems have built over a long period of time. No question about that.

    Blessings to you and yours.


  21. Marilyn

    This speaks the sentiments of our hearts as well!

    Thank you for being here, Sister McDonald. We will just keep on doing what we can for God’s kingdom and for our great country. Love you and your hubby.🙂


  22. Lori Sharp

    Beautiful. God bless the Romneys for their sacrifice and God bless the USA!

    Thank you Lori for being here and for your comment. I agree with you in asking God to bless the Romney family. May it be so.


  23. Michael

    What a heartfelt letter that one would hope would reach Mr.Romney. I echo your heart but would add that as misguided as America is, it is still a great country and we as Christians can have hope that our God and savior can and will continue to protect and lead us. He is the almighty creator and has us all in his hands.

    Yes, dear Michael. We are in the hands of God–His wide, strong hands. It has been noted that the finest way to display a rare diamond is to show it against a backdrop of ebony. In that way, the facets of light within the stone are shown to their greatest advantage. Such is true of us who know about the light of the world. God give us wisdom to help others understand about Jesus Christ, the righteous.


  24. Doretha

    Very well written, and it speaks for thousands of Americans. I totally agree.

    Thank you for the compliment, Doretha. What a task is upon us. But with God, we will overcome.



  25. Sister Buxton,
    Doretha and I also share your sentiments and respect your courage to make them known publicly. We, too, were hoping against hope that the tide could turn for our country. It’s hard to believe the drastic changes that have taken place in the last 50 years. Harder to believe are the changes in the last 4. I never dreamed I would live to see the day when nationalism and patriotism and basic morals would be in such short supply in America. It’s hard to imagine there is not one leader who is willing and able to stand up for the values and principles that made America great.

    We stand with you in prayer for men like Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan. Too bad their voice was not strong enough to make the difference.

    Brother Fields, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts here. I concur with you that our country has changed so much, it is hardly recognizable now.I’m so glad we know God who does not change, never varies, never is lacking in power. Only in Him can we truly place our trust.

    Blessings on you, your family, and your work for God.


  26. Eunice Hart

    I totally agree too. Thank you, Sis. Buxton for putting into words the way my husband and I feel.

    Thank you for visiting my blog and for taking the time to comment. I do appreciate it.


  27. Jean Walter

    Well said Sis Buxton. God help America.

    Thank you, Jean. And I believe God will help us. Let us be strong and rise to the challenge.

    Love you….have for years now.🙂


  28. Eva

    I totally agree! You are an awesome lady and I love this!

    Thank you, Eva. As Christians, we have work to do. It is incumbent on us to examine ourselves, be sure of our values, then try to convince others to join us. God’s word is our guiding star.

    Love and blessings…..


  29. wow. political views aside, no one can deny how greatly written that was

    Thank you for reading here at my blog, and thank you for the compliment.To be learned here, Jules, and I sense an inkling of that in your response, is how important it is to stand by our belief system. We must be able to defend our stance, and when we can do that, we stand by others of the same cloth.

    I wish every blessing on you and yours . . . and on our great country.


Leave a Reply

