God and America

In our home, we are seldom–if ever–depressed, yet as Jerry and I sat in our living room last night and followed the election returns by radio and by the internet, depression filled our hearts. Had we a gauge to measure the air, I suspect our atmosphere would have thundered with depression. I stayed up to listen to Governor Romney’s gracious concession speech. I could not bear to hear President Obama’s acceptance speech.

Last night I wrote a paragraph on my facebook account in which I stated my deep concerns about the health of America, at which time I suggested the election outcome was not a fluke, but rather was a revelation of the heart of our country. I am convinced this is so. I grieve.

The problem goes deeper than the discussion of job creation, the size of the military, black vote, women vote, youth vote, red states, blue states, Hispanic vote, automobile bail-outs, Bain Capital, outsourcing, China, Iran . . .far deeper than all that. The problem is with our hearts. The America I have known all my life is gone. I no longer recognize my country, my dear country. We have lost our way.

Just this week PETA asked the city of Irvine, CA. to erect a memorial to 1600 fish who died because of a traffic accident. Yet today–today–American mamas took themselves to clinics or to bedrooms and more than three thousand of them killed their babies. They aborted them. Fifty million every year. It’s ghastly.

Yesterday, into the U S senate Tammy Baldwin was elected. She is openly gay.

In September, I sat in my living room and on my computer heard the delegates at the DNC shout no when they were asked to include references to God and to say that Jerusalem is the capital of Israel in their platform. I was sickened.

In 2006, in a short blog post I raised the question as to whether or not God sets up our leaders. I had forgotten about the piece, but it has come to my attention that it recent hours it has received hundreds of hits. I plan to study the issue more. How can it be that God would set up an evil person? Does He? Are we being punished because we have turned from God?

Our hope lies in Jesus Christ the righteous. There is no other way.

“If my people, who are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” II Chronicles 7:14

I’m very interested in your thoughts. Please leave a comment.

7 thoughts on “God and America

  1. Charlotte Mills

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts which mirror mine. God help us all; and please come quickly, Lord Jesus!!

    Bless you friend. Keep the faith!

    Like

  2. You described the feeling in our home on Tuesday night as well. We were sickened by the outcome, but even more disheartened by the America we now live in.

    But as someone who has prayed for the Lord’s return all my life, I read Matthew 24 and look at the signs of the time. We must head in this direction for the end to come. And so I prayed for the election and now I pray, “even so come, Lord Jesus.”

    Thank you so much for being here and for sharing your thoughts. Heaven is the answer. God help me to make it. Love and blessings…..

    Like

  3. James 2:9 In 2003 I had a “dream” that disturbed me very bad. I dreamed that I was in this mall setting and there was this massive snake. It was so big it curled up and down all the halls and into every opening and I was shocked to see such a large snake. So I began to start looking for the head of this snake. It was so big I was just curious to see what the head of that thing looked like, so I went up and down stepping over it to try and find the head of it. After looking for quite some time I finally found it and I was shocked to see that it was just a normal head. It was a normal man that had caused this enemy to become so massive. Right after I found the head of the snake the dream changed scenes and I was looking at a small pond and there was a blonde headed woman who was just relaxing in the pond floating on her back. Then a snake came up next to her on her left side and I warned her to stay still and let it pass. no sooner had the snake passed until another one came up on the right side of her headed towards her feet so I again told her to be still and let it pass. Then snakes were coming up on both sides of her just gliding towards her feet and I just kept telling her to stay calm and let them pass….finally the last snake passed and I held out my hand and said “Now, get out” and I helped her out of the water…immediately the dream went back to this massive snake and when I looked at it, it was dead and it was split open at the top and being devoured by millions of ants…..it troubled me the next morning and I kept asking God what could this dream mean .. and then is when I felt it very strong..the biggest “sin” (enemy) in the church is respect to persons…..When the church becomes a “body” that is fitly joined together with no big “i’s” or little “u’s”, and having “care” one for the other as we are to, then we will finally conquer and kill the ugliest sin there is. There will be no division or schisms in the body.

    Wow. Quite a dream. While I am not at all an interpreter of dreams, I agree with you that we need to care for all those around us. Blessings to you and yours.

    Like

  4. Sis. Buxton, here are my thoughts about what happened yesterday.

    I think the world is ruled by Lucifer. God is allowing him to do as he pleases, to a degree. What Lucifer is doing is, setting the stage for the Anti-Christ to come and “save the day!” bringing peace, prosperity, and hope. The worse the world gets and the less it can rely on leaders to make this a better place, the better the stage is set.

    You would think he learned his lesson when he thought he destroyed Jesus Christ on the cross. šŸ˜‰

    In the meantime, us children of God, must get even closer to God than we are, spread the gospel of Jesus Christ and help as many people go to heaven with us as possible. And while doing so, stay positive, happy, and encourage one another to keep our faith and trust in our Creator, God our Father.

    That’s what I think…in a nutshell. šŸ™‚
    iā™„u

    Tena, you’re right: We will make it, for God will not forsake us. Never!

    Like

  5. Yvette

    I felt like my heart was going to collapse when I heard the results yesterday. I began to cry…..a deep, grieving cry. It’s true that our country is changing. We are still a nation of Believers….but the aspect that has changed is that we have become a nation of rationalizers…..I can’t tell you how many people I debated and discussed the election details with who were more concerned with attacking the Republican candidate rather than looking at the very character of their own candidate. We have reached a place of moral depravity and call it freedom.

    Thank you Yvette for being here and for your comments. We must allow ourselves time to grieve, then however, we will pick ourselves up and do what is right in the world. blessings to you and yours.

    Like

  6. Doretha

    I too am feeling the blow. I grew up in a small rural town in the San Jouquin Valley. The America I loved and respected is gone. I believe that is why my heart and mind is having a hard time with my emotions. This election showed the true state of mind the people now have. It made me so sick at heart. So Thankful I know who holds our tomorrow, and who holds our hand. Love you dear folks!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

