Last Day of Summer Adventure

A couple of weeks ago a section of my novel-in-progress disturbed me so much I was weeping profusely. Those shed tears are long gone, for the chapter I’m working on now makes me want to snatch out papers, wad them into big balls and do a slam-dunk into the nearest trash can! Pitiful. Boring. Flat. Uninteresting. Won’t work. Doesn’t make sense.

So . . . I told Jerry I was leaving. Grabbed my camera, a short grocery list, letters for the post office, and a stuffed bear I had rooted around and found in the upstairs bedroom where the grandkids sleep when they visit. He might be a model for my shoot . . . at the very least he would comfort me, sitting obediently by my side as I tore out of our driveway.

Camp Seeley is two or three miles from our house. Just outside the entrance to the camp runs Seeley Creek. When I arrived there I found this.

. . . and these

And as we were leaving, Bear said he wanted to play in the grass, and so for a few minutes we played hide-and-go-seek in the bushes by Seeley Creek–Bear and I did that.

4 thoughts on “Last Day of Summer Adventure

  1. Mervi

    Yes, Sis. Buxton you are a wonderful write. Your ability to change the perspectives and to from Great color to Black and white. These show the skill of a “Shutter bug.” May our Lord’s face shile upon two wonderful people.

    Thank you Brother Mervi. Hope you and your wife are well. Love you both.

    Like

  2. Charlotte Mills

    Sister Buxton, this post is so interesting. Again, you are such a great writer as you pulled me into the scene. Your frustration, leaving home, but taking the bear is my favorite part!!! The photos are awesome, as yours always are! Thanks for writing, because it’s an adventure I wouldn’t want to miss! Love you so much!

    Well, Charlotte, if you were frustrated and had a bear like that wouldn’t you take him with you? 🙂

    Like

  3. I remember Camp Seeley. Our children went there for summer camp for many years……..Thank you Sis Buxton as always…..

    Mine went there too for Jr. camp–way before we lived up here. Can’t believe that now I have great-grandkids going to camp! Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

