. . . in the nighttime

The last time I had looked at it–in the evening before we closed up the house–it was a tightly closed zucchini blossom. I was stunned the next morning, for when doing a preliminary check of our garden by leaning over the deck bannister, I saw a fully developed yellow flower. During the night, it had bloomed.

Something had worked on that plant in those dark hours. A maturity had developed. Something nudged the blossom into opening up, into un-fisting and revealing itself. So instead of tight, curled-up formations now was a rich, deep flower, its beautiful yellow face and throat open to the air and to the sunshine.

Immediately I thought of us, I thought of you and me. Often we find ourselves in midnight situations, tense, closed up, lacking the light, our faces turned from the sunshine. But during those times, if we are wise, we will let God mature us, let Him perfect us so that when daylight finally comes, all will know that we have been transformed into the beautiful creation God intended.

__________________

I suspect that many of you will relate to this. I’d love you to leave a comment.

5 thoughts on “. . . in the nighttime

  1. Beautiful post! Thank you. I could feel your love for us as you wrote it. 🙂
    This is so true. Sometimes I fight the night, because it’s too painful. Then, when I fall on my knees and submit to my Creator, He gives me the patience to endure and He lets me know it’s for my own good. 🙂

    Love you, Tena. Thanks for being here and for your comment.

    Like

  2. Shirley…this is absolutely a wonderful wonderful post…simply stated…with a profound effect. You’ve inspired me today!

    Thank you so much for the compliment. Glad these words blessed you today.

    Like

  3. Charlotte Mills

    Thank you, Sis. Buxton, for the sweet reminder of God’s faithfulness to us even in the nighttime! Love your writing and photography – – love YOU!!!

    Love you, too, Sister Mills. Thank you for the compliments.

    Like

  4. Jana

    This was beautiful. I have been going through a “nighttime” experience this year and can definitely relate to what you have written. I can see how God has used it to work some things in me (and out of me) that might have otherwise been left undone. He knows what’s best for us!

    Oh, what a comfort to know that God truly knows what’s best for us. Even if we never understand–or if we do–we will be safe if we always place ourselves in His hand.

    Like

  5. Jean Walter

    Thank you so much for this word today. I need it!

    Hi, Jean. If we can be honest, all of us, at one time or another have gone through long and painful night sessions. God help us to learn from those times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

