Birthday . . . life’s progression . . .

It wasn’t an exceptionally important birthday, his 41st, except that every birthday is an important one. . . for all of us. He passed another milestone, did Andrew Buxton, my youngest child. I know him rather well, and understand the past 12 months have been challenging for him, as they have for many people. I’m proud of Andrew, for many reasons, but in my eyes his most significant trait is that he is a man of God. He is a tremendous preacher, highly anointed by the Holy Ghost. He has faced some fierce challenges and has emerged victorious, having maintained his integrity with God.

“No big celebration,” he told me when I called earlier in the week to plan time with him on his birthday. “Meet us at El Pollo Grill at 5:30,” he said in a later phone call. We had such a great visit that it was after 8:00 before we left the restaurant.

Is it from time immemorial that little boys have made horns on people during group photographs? Love all those people there!

I had walked toward the car when I looked down the sidewalk and saw Andrew standing alone with his dad. Such scenes always touch me and cause me to consider anew life and its swift progression.

6 thoughts on “Birthday . . . life’s progression . . .

  1. Wonderful post…what I wouldn’t give to have another photo with just me and my dad.

    Thank you for visiting my site and for your comment. So true that we must take advantage of every day. . . for too soon, they pass. Blessings to you and yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

