To Sunset (Day 9 Summer Roadtrip 2012)

After arriving in Yuma a little after ten, Jerry set up our rig, I arranged the inside portion of the motor home, then we set down for a light lunch. It was hot, so we stayed inside; temperature reached 112 degrees today.

Remembering we had a Cracker Barrel gift card, being hungry now in the early evening, and not motivated to cook very much, we trekked to our faithful Jeep and drove to Cracker Barrel. I’m ambivalent about Cracker Barrel, although I hesitate to say so for fear of old shoes and rotten tomatoes being thrown my way, for I understand that lots of people revel in the thought of sitting down to a meal in one of these restaurants. Jerry’s food was great (fish and chips), mine was mediocre (chopped sirloin). Cracker Barrel management is brilliant; I give them that, for everyone who enters to have a meal must walk first through the shopping area. Cute things there, reasonably priced. What say you about Cracker Barrel? Of course some will have no opinion, never having had the opportunity to eat at one of these interesting places. I believe there are none in California; probably this one in Yuma is the closest.

The best part of the day now evolved, when heading back toward our rig, I saw this attractive church, set high above the freeway and practically glowing in the magnificent evening light. We turned off, and while Jerry stayed in the parking lot overlooking the Colorado River, where across the way, families were splashing around in that surging cooling water, I climbed many steps to stand before the church.

A firey orb, the sun was setting now showing its splendid glow across one of the numerous agricultural fields here in this area. Jerry was good enough to stop every little bit so I could snap the progression as the sun quickly slipped behind the mountains that loom in the distance.

. . . and day is done.

4 thoughts on “To Sunset (Day 9 Summer Roadtrip 2012)

  1. Want to know what stood out to me in this post? πŸ˜‰
    “Jerry was good enough to stop every little bit so I could snap…”
    I think it takes a patient husband to be married to a lover of photography.
    Aren’t we blessed, Sister Buxton. πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ for sure, for sure

    Like

  2. Jarrid Younkin

    Sis Buxton, I don’t read blogs as a rule, but I always try to read yours! I love your writing. And these pictures are Georgeous!

    But I must disagree aboutnCracker Barrell! Have you had their breakfast? Kendra and I need to take you there and I can give you specific information about most of their menu items!

    Jarrid Younkin

    πŸ™‚ Well, I’m willing to let you and your sweet wife guide me through the Cracker Barrel menu one day when we can eat together at one of them. Thanks for the compliments. Love all of you so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

