Evin’s 15th

Evin is cool, a polite young man, my oldest great-grandchild. Yesterday was his 15th birthday and we celebrated with a little family dinner at Dolce, an Italian eatery, Evin’s favorite here in Lake Havasu.

His parents presented him with a new jet ski, and had already spent a couple of hours on the lake playing around in the water with the new toy.

“Brody, you’ll understand later. It’s like this being 15!”

Brody is 4 and having a celebration of his own on Thursday evening. He’s graduating pre-school! I admired his mom as she polished his manners and refused to talk to him as long as he had a whiny voice. He is beautiful and with a little coaxing sang part of a piece from the graduation ceremony. I picked up a few words…”we have worked hard…”

Proud daddy Ryan beamed from the head of the table.

Grandpa and Evin.

Grandma and Evin

As we prepared to leave, I watched Evin walk over to thank his Pappy for the gift and for helping him celebrate. I was touched, thinking of the life-challenges that inevitably Evin will face. I love him. Prayed for him at that moment, and do so now.

8 thoughts on “Evin’s 15th

  1. Charlotte Mills

    Such a sweet blog post, Sis. Buxton! I’ve said it before, and I will repeat it now, that your writing is awesome. I feel as if I am right there with you, experiencing the joys, and sensing your deep love for God when you mention praying for your great-grandson, Evin. God bless you and your family! Love you lots!

    Like

  2. Lindsi Wake

    Thank you for spending last night w/ us. It was very nice to see you and Pappy, The pictures turned out great and your words are beautiful to go with them, I Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

