A Day at Home

On Facebook yesterday, as I was “waxing eloquent” concerning the advantage of living here in Crestline, Jocelyn suggested I should post pictures. “Going out in a few minutes with my camera,” I responded to her, and so I did. I didn’t prowl far, only in our own gardens.

Gazing from our front deck, I saw this vision. I cannot tell you how many shots I’ve taken from this point. (Actually the header on this site is such photography.) Between where I’m standing and the far trees is Lake Gregory. Often clouds spill over the ridge, appearing as foamy water being poured from a gigantic bucket. Mist envelopes the stately conifers.

Friendly lizards scamper about our property, and as I descended the steps, camera over my shoulder, this beautiful one, whom I named Liz, stopped to stare at me. Later when I posted her picture on Flickr (where, by the way, I have thousands of viewable pictures), the following conversation arose:

“Liz is gorgeous!! and she looks like she knows it..:) is she yours? how old is she? :))”

“She must be your pet if you are on a first-name basis. A beautifully detailed shot of this critter.”

“Liz couldn’t have chosen a better background!”

I responded: “I must confess to having met Liz only today. Actually I may have met her before–not sure, but I certainly am acquainted with other members of her family. They freely roam around our property here in Crestline. Friendly little things. Liz stared at me, and when she saw I was taking her picture, and naming her, she sat perfectly still for several shots. She’s beautiful. Did you see that her belly is blue?”

And in response to her choosing such a splendid background, I said, “That’s because in addition to being beautiful, Liz is smart.”

I snapped a quick shot of the front of our house where rockroses are now in full bloom.

Bill’s yard adjoins ours. His rockroses have little faces like pansies.

Our yards have suffered since we’re gone so much, but amazingly we still have some spectacular flowers. These are blooming in the back.

Come see me sometime!

8 thoughts on “A Day at Home

  1. Beautiful pictures, great job, and Liz is pretty cute 🙂 I saw a lizard at my house the other day. he ran out in front of me and I jumped and yelped. I wanted to name him but not a name I could repeat 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh I have to show Caleb the pic of Liz. He will LOVE her. He has two pet lizards his papa brought him which he named Gator & Strawberry. He spends QUALITY time with them. They are the first thing he checks on when he wakes every morning, as soon as he comes in from school, & before going to bed. In between he will sit & talk to them & reach in & pet them. (He washes his hands a lot) He has them in a large tank & made them a desert scene. His uncle Eric is getting him a tarantula. It should be here any day now. We already have the tank for it. May I come live with you? Your critters are outside your house. PLEASE????? LOL!!!! Sis Buxton, your pics are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

