Facebook, Friends, Shrimp Creole . . . and Paula Deen

Started out this morning, when contemplating dinner preparation, I pled on Facebook for a delicious recipe using the shrimp, bell pepper, and onion I had on hand. Friends came to my rescue and I decided on Shrimp Creole, using a recipe from Paula Deen.

When I went to the cupboard for the canned tomatoes I thought I had, I found I had none, only tomato sauce. I substituted a chopped fresh tomato and added a splash of water.

“Can you help me out,” I asked Jerry.

He looked up from the work he was doing in the study, followed me into the kitchen where he measured out the 2 tablespoons of olive oil. (The reason for him doing it, of course, was so I could snap a picture. πŸ™‚ )

Chefs, especially those who specialize in French and/or Cajun cooking, refer often to a mixture of vegetables as the holy trinity. Equal amounts of chopped onion, bell pepper and celery claim the title, and when I tossed these vegetables into the hot olive oil in my iron skillet, cooked them until they were soft, then added the chili power, the mixture did indeed caramelize. The aroma carried a hint of heaven, a slight hint to be sure, but it was there.

At this point, I plopped everything except the shrimp into my small crock pot, and it began its three-hour simmer, rather quickly giving off a tantalizing aroma.

I set the table, steamed the rice, made a salad, cleaned the shrimp, poured our drinks, then added the shrimp to the simmering pot. Three minutes for the shrimp just did not seem long enough to me; I let them cook for about 10 minutes . . . perfect. I only had a pound of shrimp, and although the recipe called for a pound and a half, there was plenty of shrimp. Jerry had two helpings, I had one, and there is enough left for two small servings.

I will be printing out this recipe and placing it in my recipe notebook. It is delicious! Wouldn’t change a thing. Cheers to friends, especially to those on Facebook who came to my rescue this morning . . . and well, to Paula Deen.

6 thoughts on “Facebook, Friends, Shrimp Creole . . . and Paula Deen

  1. Karen Ready Sperduti

    Sounds great…until you got to the shrimp part. However, I don’t doubt Jim would have the 2 small servings.

    Karen, I suppose you could have the sauce with chicken or pork…So good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

