Tasty Stuffed Peppers

A favorite simple meal of Jerry’s and mine is stuffed bell peppers. Want to know how to do it? For two, here goes.

1. Select two nice bell peppers. Try to get them on sale as I did these: 2 for $1.00 at Goodwin’s market in Crestline.

2. Measure out 1/2 cup of rice and put on to steam. I use short grain; lots of people like long grain. Doesn’t matter.

3. Back to the peppers which you should wash, then core out the stem and those white thingys inside.

4. Place peppers in shallow heat resistant dish. Cover with plastic wrap and microwave until just tender. Took mine 7 to 8 minutes today. Alternately, you may do this in a saucepan atop the stove. I’ve done it both ways–one is as good as the other.

5. In heavy skillet, cook good quality hamburger meat–about 1/2 pound. Season simply with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of garlic powder. When rice is finished, dump it into the skillet and mix the rice and meat thoroughly. Add approximately half a large can of plain tomato sauce. Think there are 15 or 16 ounces in one of those cans. Mix thoroughly.

6. The cooked bell peppers should be placed upside down in a colander so that the water drains out and they become nice and dry.

7. Return peppers to the cooking dish and stuff them with the mixture from the black skillet. Generously poke the meat mixture in until the peppers are bulging. Fill them high but if there’s too much meat it won’t hurt anything if the mixture falls into the bottom of the dish. Pour the remaining tomato sauce over the luscious peppers. Top with a generous grating of a good cheddar cheese.

8. I did all this while I was cleaning up the kitchen from breakfast, then I covered the peppers with plastic wrap and placed the dish in the fridge. Around 4:00, I pulled it out, placed it on the middle shelf of my oven set to 375, but which actually gets only to 350 and cooked until it was heated through, appearing bubbly and just beginning to crust on the top.

I served this with a salad of chopped romaine lettuce and chopped onions mixed  simply with mayonnaise. I had three homemade yeast rolls left from another meal which I heated slightly, and beside which on the table, I added a dish of butter. We drank iced tea.

There you are. Simple super supper . . . or dinner . . . or lunch. Probably not breakfast. 🙂 I’ll post these directions in my recipe section. Take a look there if you’d like; love to have you add something.

Happy eating.

6 thoughts on “Tasty Stuffed Peppers

  1. @Helen, I can see adding mushrooms to this dish. Probably tasty. Go ahead and try the cheese if you like cheese. Problem is: calories!

    @Kathy, yesterday I actually added about 1/2 cup of spicy tomatoes and peppers to my sauce. Had it left over from another dish. It was delicious, although a bit spicy.

    Love peppers almost any way they are prepared. I sometimes saute together thick slices of bell peppers and onions until just tender. Scrumptious…and few calories!

    Happy day to both of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

