Grocery Shopping in the San Bernardino Mountains

Perhaps to excess so that others find my conversation boring do I speak glowingly of  living here in the San Bernardino mountains, and of how blessed of God do I feel to call this place my home.. “I need to work for the Crestline Chamber of Commerce,” more than once I have half-teasingly said to someone.

My routine trip to the grocery store yesterday reinforced this notion.

The parking lot at Stater Brothers was cramped. On the far corner as I drove about looking for an available spot, I spied this view. Its beauty is rare, yet in one sense, it is common to me, for during routine grocery shopping errands, I see this. How can I not feel blessed?

I’ve never clocked it, but I think I travel between six and eight miles to the grocery store in Lake Arrowhead. (A locally-owned super market is in Crestline where I also shop, but prices, quality and selection are much better at Staters, so for a larger amount of groceries, I go there.) Often on these trips I travel the “backway,” which takes me through Blue Jay and a couple of other little communities. Yesterday, I chose to travel home by way of Highway 18 which–with good reason–is dubbed The Rim of the World Highway.

Spread before me as I pulled into one of the picnic areas off the highway were these scenes.

Perhaps I am peculiar, but I found the sight of that large, freshly fallen pine cone appealing. I’m glad I left it for someone else to admire, but if my grandkids come back before the snow falls, I want to take them to gather pine cones. (Four-year-old Ella calls them pineapples. 🙂  ) Thousands lie about.

3 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping in the San Bernardino Mountains

  1. I’ve spent many summers in Crestline after traveling the Rim of the World highway (once in fog so soupy my mother stuck her head out the passenger side window to verbally navigate for my dad to keep us from tipping over the side) at church camp! Thank you for the photos. They were a wonderful reminder of precious memories!

    Like

  2. thetodd446

    Miss Shirley,
    My name is Todd Luke and I work with General Baptist Ministries. I have been working on graphics for our Senior Adult Retreat which is themed Camp Meeting Days. While looking for pictures for the piece, I came across a photo you took in 2006 that I would like to use.
    Please contact me as soon as possible to talk about arrangements.
    My email: gbevents@generalbaptist.com

    Thanks,
    Todd Luke

    Like

Leave a Reply

