Spam and Pulled Pork in Safford

Summer road trip. Day 17 Saturday, June 18, 2011

Just past 7:30 am, we pulled away from the church in Sierra Vista, and before 10:00 we were on the church property in Safford, some 90 miles away. Parking the motor home was a little bit tricky for Jerry, but he is quite good at maneuvering the 40 feet long rig, and soon had it set up.

Brother Keyes had come by, and then called to say they wanted to go out to dinner around 6:00 or 7:00. We went to this neat little Hawaiian grill, where I had delicious pulled pork. I had left my camera in the car, but went to get it when I saw Spam on the menu! Tickled me. Is it common to serve Spam in restaurants in Hawaii? Is it true it is the meat of choice there?

Another neat thing about Safford, AZ.: We have internet connection in our motor home! Fast, too.

Edit: Read more here of late night activities.

3 thoughts on “Spam and Pulled Pork in Safford

  1. Tena, when I was a very young mother with probably only Steve and Mike, for a while we lived in San Diego, where also lived Jerry’s sister Sophia and her family. Once when their boys were over visiting us, I fried Spam and served it for dinner. Dean went home and told his mom, “Aunt Shirley is the best cook.” Then he went on to describe the rectangular pieces of meat I served.

    “What kind of meat was it that was so good?” Sophia asked me on the phone.

    I laughed and told her it was Spam. Might have been the last piece I fried. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Yes, Spam is on almost all the menus in the restaurants in Hawaii. And restaurants serve it many different ways. I don’t like it, though. But most locals love it. šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

