To Phoenix!

Summer road trip. Day 3 Saturday, June 4

Jerry left with Mike before 7:00 am with plans to attend men’s prayer meeting down at the church, then they would pick up some things to do a little motor home maintenance, before we headed out. While they were gone, I went again to Staples to pick up a poster I had ordered and to take care of a couple of other things. One of the things I had to take care of is a secret from Jerry: I bought more dishes! It’s okay, though, for even though I do not need more dishes, I bought these at a thrift store for next to nothing, and aren’t we to be good stewards of our money, and I bought just a few pieces, and besides they are so cute, and anyway there were still a few inches of empty space in my cupboards…reasons like that. 🙂

As I pulled up in Mike’s driveway, I saw a commotion at the rear of the motorhome; a few feet away was parked a mobile tire repair truck. What? A breakdown already? Seems as the men were installing an extended valve stem (I think that’s what it was) something broke, and with a loud whisss…..ing sound, one of those huge tires began flattening. Quick repair, though from a friendly mobile tire mechanic.

Our children treat us with such kindness and such thoughtfulness. Mike climbed up on a ladder and gave our windshield a final cleaning. We said good-bye to sweet Mike and Melina, Mike hooked the Jeep to the motor home, and we were off.

The drive along the Colorado River near Parker is a beautiful one. Red stony mountains rear up from the valley floor through which flows the magnificent river. Lots of campgrounds and water play in this area. As we drove, we came upon this vehicle; it was so peculiar looking that at first we couldn’t even tell what it was. We followed it quite a ways as there was no space to pass, and we never did figure it out exactly. Either some kind of a pool or a very large water toy. A couple of people seemed pretty relaxed in it.

Topped off with fuel, and because we hadn’t eaten all day, I made us a sandwich and we ate lunch in our motor home on the Pilot station parking lot in Quartzsite. Arrived safely in Phoenix around 4:30. I scurried about getting everything set up in the motorhome and preparing a little meal for our friends the Hogans who would be here around 6:00. (My new dishes looked wonderful on yellow placemats!)

 

________________

Miles today: 212               Total trip miles:   462

4 thoughts on “To Phoenix!

  1. Wish I were with you right at this moment!
    I would have such a blast traveling with you!
    Buying dishes. ♥
    Taking photos. ♥
    Eating. ♥
    Visiting Phoenix. ♥
    You lucky ducky. 😉
    ♥ u!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Teapots by Debbie Mumm (Day 156/365) « Shirley Buxton’s Photography

Leave a Reply

