A Birthday, Air Conditioners, Enchiladas, and Friends

Summer road trip. Day 5, Monday, June 6, 2011

I’m sad. Today is Andrew’s birthday–a rather significant one in that he is turning 40. I’m not sad because he’s turning 40; just sad that I’m not with him on this special day. I want to say now, I can’t believe he’s 40 and such as that, and even though it is true, I will refrain from saying it. You know it anyway, for it is a recurrent theme among mankind: The years pass quickly, our youngest becomes a man, then is past his early youth, then we are grandparents, and great-grandparents, and we want to say where has the time flown? Bears thinking about today.

Since I sold lots of books yesterday, and because I took pre-orders for BACKSLIDING…the bitter bite of beelzebub, and because I took orders for A THOUSAND PIECES since we are out of stock again and will get more printed, I set up a little bookkeeping system for this road trip. Have I said lately how I vehemently dislike bookkeeping? 😦  Strange thing, though. I never seem to get away from it. (Okay, I’m over my gripe of the day.)

Just before we reached Parker on Saturday, as we drove in our motor home to Phoenix, our dash air conditioner stopped. Worked fine to that point, then with no sound, no warning, just quit. Jerry mentioned to Brother Wiley that we need to find a technician to take a look at it and it so happened he had a gentleman in his church that could look at it for us. Brother Davenport called and would be at our rig at 6:00 in the evening.

“May I bring my wife?” Jerry’s phone had rung just before 6:00 and Brother Davenport was on the line. “She didn’t get a chance to meet your wife, Sunday. She wants her to autograph the books she bought, and she’s made a pan of enchiladas and wants to come with me if it is okay.”

So here they came with enchiladas, paper plates, napkins and drinks. Can you believe how sweet? I set up our little table, and as we had a nice visit, we ate the chicken/spinach enchiladas. Delicious. I had some beautiful strawberres in the fridge, took them out, poured out a dish of powdered sugar, and we had dessert.

The problem with the air conditioner was easily remedied; needs a charge of freon, which job will be completed on Tuesday. Brother and Sister Hogan drove up as the men were finishing up the air conditioner diagnosis, and they hadn’t eaten. Into the motor home they came, I took the remaining enchiladas out of the refrigerator, heated them up, and now Brother and Sister Hogan had joined the enchilada party.

Jerry mentioned it again this morning: “People are so nice to us, Shirley.”

I agreed and added, “Far more than we deserve.”

3 thoughts on “A Birthday, Air Conditioners, Enchiladas, and Friends

  1. Hey, Melina. Remember the large dish of paella you gave us when we arrived in Lake Havasu. There was so much food floating our way while we were at your place, that we didn’t really get a chance to eat it. When we arrived here on Saturday, the Hogans had been working all day down at their day care–heavy maintenance, etc. I made them a little meal at 6:00, the center of which was the paella. It was delicious! We all loved it; there was even a little more left that I ate yesterday. THANK YOU.

    Like

  2. Wow, I like that kind of Repair Man! What you put out you get in return in so many different ways…Maybe you should unplug your oven and see what pops up next 🙂 Just kidding!!!! Love your post. XO

    Like

Leave a Reply

