Out and About in Lake Havasu

Summer Road Trip Day 2 Friday, June 3

Gorgeous weather in Lake Havasu today, although, even with moderate June temperatures here, it is a jolt from Crestline, where our spring has been a cool one. We were still using our furnace in the mornings before we left. No furnace here; fans and air conditioners instead. Small annoyances in the motor home are the sounds of the fans and the air conditioners.

This was a busy, fun, profitable day in several areas.

1. BACKSLIDING…the bitter bite of beelzebub

Early in the morning, I made a cd of the 168 page manuscript, ran it down to Staples and ordered ten sets, which I will use to send out for critiques and for editing. They are so nice at the Staples store here. She ran me a proof, I signed off on it, understanding it would be ready by 4:00.

2. Peanut brittle

“You do what you have to do.” “You make it work.” “It is what it is.” Christ Alive is a gung-ho home missions church with an upbeat, positive attitude. They sell peanut brittle like crazy in several businesses around town, with nice displays at the airport, restaurants, beauty shops and the like.  They need a kitchen. “We’ll make it in my garage,” Mike decided. AND WE DID! Portable gas camp stove, boiling cauldron of water to clean the pans…Marvelous! So neat I happened to be here to help get the garage kitchen set up and give a few pointers about cooking the delicious candy. Onward, Church!

3. The old Wal-Mart building is becoming a Hobby Lobby!

4. Shopped at Wal-Mart for groceries and a few supplies for the empty larder in the motor home.

5. Phone call from Staples. Print job ready several hours early. $110.37 print bill. When I picked it up, I ordered a laminated poster for my book, LINK TO EXCELLENCE. I’ll be pushing book sales in the churches during this trip. I don’t like this part of book writing, as I am not a good promoter of my work. It embarrasses me…but neither do I like having boxes of books in the basement at Crestline. 🙂 So here goes! Book promo time! Step right up! Blue light specials coming to a church near you!

5. While I was in Wal-Mart, I received a phone call from Crystal, one of our sweet converts from our CIP classes here in Lake Havasu. She had dropped by the motor home for a little visit. “I’m checking out in a few minutes. Wait for me,” I told her. Emily is one of her children, a 3-year-old beauty.

6. I don’t know of a finer hostess than is sweet Melina. She is an exceptional cook, and presents her meals in beautiful, creative ways. She and Mike are the greatest couple; he does an exceptional job at the grill. Appetizers at 6:00, followed around 7:00 by the tastiest of lamb chops, fresh corn on the cob, a salad of fresh spinach, candied pecans, strawberries and mandarin oranges, so delicious I was gazing into the bowl wanting more, when all the while my tummy was saying, No! Garlic bread, watermelon…After we were in the motor home almost ready for bed came a pounding on our door. Mike handed in a tall cup of ice cream–coffee with chocolate covered almonds! “Try this, Mom.” We couldn’t, though, and it awaits us now in the freezer.



4 thoughts on “Out and About in Lake Havasu

  1. This post causes several emotions to appear in me:

    1. Happy for my friends because they are having a wonderful time…and a wonderful life.
    2. Excited to see my talented friends’ fun and wonderful hostess/chef ideas.
    3. Admiration for an elderly couple who never want to stop doing a work for God’s Kingdom, even though retired and on vacation.
    4. Missing my sweet friends’ fantastic home and hospitality.
    5. Hungry for my favorite ice cream flavor…coffee!

    Like

Leave a Reply

