Shirley Buxton Obituary

Because I’m not of a nervous disposition, I laughed when I saw it, but through the day I couldn’t help but remember and wonder about it a bit. Before the day was over I took a screen shot and wish I could post it here, but so far I can’t seem to figure out how to do that. On the stats page of this blog there is a report of the phrases people use in search engines to bring them here. Yesterday, 3 people typed in the words Shirley Buxton Obituary…and because that request shot them to my blog, it was reported on my stats page!

My obituary! What’s with that? for here I am, alive and well, and reading that someone is interested in my obituary. Maybe they were planning to attend my funeral, wanted to know the hours of the viewing, location of the services, where to send flowers 🙂  and such…not sure!

I am an early riser, and nearly always get out of bed ahead of Jerry, but this morning was an exception. I was up several times through the night peering out the windows in hope of seeing the massive snow storm that has been forecast for the San Bernardino Mountains. Nothing. It rained most of the day yesterday, but by evening even that had stopped, and because I am a lover of snow, I was deeply disappointed.

Teasing, I said to Jerry when I finally slipped from the bed and joined him in the kitchen, “I thought of staying in bed all day, with the cover pulled over my head in a pout because of the lack of snow, but…I smelled coffee, so here I am.” He grinned and poured me a cup of steaming fragrant coffee.

So in consideration of the Shirley Buxton obituary search yielding no authentic and reliable results, I’ve decided to put aside my absence of snow pout, and enjoy the day. For actually, as far as this world goes, I live in paradise, and looking through my windows or stepping onto my front deck and seeing such as this, tells me of the silliness of a pout.

How is your day? Probably rather good, for no one reading here also has an obituary printed in the local newspaper. Lots of joy for us today, lots of pleasure, lots of beauty around. Oh, there may be a bit of fog in the mix, a disappointment or two, a hefty challenge poking at us…but all in all, this is a great day. We’re alive! We’re abundantly blessed. Let us rejoice and be glad!

I looked in one direction this morning and saw dark and fog, and some would call it gloom. Turning another way, however, I saw blue skies and promise of another glorious day.

9 thoughts on “Shirley Buxton Obituary

  1. how strange is that? i am glad that you are still here, and still blogging. Someone one recently left me a message that they googled something to do with depression, and got one of my posts on Resurrection Power LOL God cracks me up! the person was enquiring how i got Google to do that and place me in the top 3… Wonder what your hits ended up reading here 😆

    Like

  2. woundedlily

    Your blog left me thinking…..I always have been intrigued since a young child at reading the tombstones in the cemetery. What would ours read? To young wise, to slow smart? To read one’s obituary sounds like the beginning of a great mystery novel. Surely as we mature we realize that we yet have so much to learn. You might be the exception; you keep blessing others and your blog will still be read long after you step from forward. May God keep you and your family in His Hands.

    Like

  3. Hmmm…very odd indeed.
    We’ve had rain, practically nonstop for the last 4 or 5 days in Gilroy, Ca.
    But it’s all good. 🙂 We do need to just make the best of a day, even when it’s a not so good one.
    I love this post.
    I love you. 🙂 ♥

    Like

  4. Pingback: No Obituary Here (Day 48/365) « Shirley Buxton’s Photography

  5. Yep, supposed to be a bigger one move in tomorrow. We’ll see. It is cold up here, and so much wind today we didn’t even walk.

    Hoping…….

    Edit: Oh, one more thing. That wasn’t you checking for my obituary, now was it? 🙂

    Like

  6. HG

    No Snow??? How can that be?

    I too heard great promise of massive snowfall in the mountains, so while we were braving the rain, I smiled knowing that you were finally getting some precious white stuff. I. Am. So. Disappointed.

    Sorry, I know how earnestly you’ve wished for it. I am wishing right along with you, because I have a couple of little (?) boys who are planning to go play in the cold stuff this weekend. I heard another storm is on its way tomorrow. hopinghopinghopinghopinghoping.

    LOVE You!
    Hugs,
    HG

    Like

Leave a Reply

