Today, Brother Ewing Saw Jesus

I was in the grocery store a few minutes ago when the call came informing me of the death of our beloved Rev. Murrell Ewing. I was stunned

I sat on my couch a few minutes ago and listened to this remarkable man sing this amazing song. I am weeping.

http://www.apostolicnews.org/2010/12/bishop-murrell-ewing-passes-away-at-69/

Murell Ewing 1941-2010

Murell Ewing 1941-2010

LAKE CHARLES, LA – December 31, 2010. The bishop of Eastwood United Pentecostal Church in Lake Charles passed away on Friday, December 31. Funeral arrangements have not yet been announced, but will be handled by Johnson Funeral Home.

Funeral arrangements for Pastor Murrell Ewing:

The wake will be Tuesday, Jan. 4th from 10 am – 2 pm at Eastwood.

The funeral will be Tuesday evening, Jan. 5th at 6:30 pm.

The burial will be on Wednesday Jan. 6th at 11am at Richie Cemetary in Moss Bluff

In lieu of flowers, please make donations to Murrell L. Ewing Mission Fund.

Donations can be sent to:

Eastwood Pentecostal Church
PO Box 16778
Lake Charles, La 70616

Source: Apostolic News

12 thoughts on “Today, Brother Ewing Saw Jesus

  1. Debra

    Oh my goodness words cannot e press what I felt at the news of Bro Merrell’s passing. His roots came from where I’m from Sandy Lake Pentecostal Church. His grandfather taught the music in our church a long time ago. I said no no we can’t go to campmeeting without him. But the Lord was ready for this great man of God to come and stand to help him welcome us as we step in. I will be happy to see him again.

    Like

  2. e. sachez

    He was a good man. I hear we lost a giant. Does anyone know what the cause of death was? Is there a lesson for us…. Sounds like there is a lot of comfort surrounding his passing. I wonder if there were some things he could have done to prevent his death. God only knows. We all have our set time. Praise God!

    Like

  3. MY little girl, Stacey wouldn’t always go to sleep when it was sleepy time. Nothing I tried seem to put her to sleep so I put in Merril Ewings tape one night and she always feel asleep to him on a regular basis after that. She is 32 now.He had a Beautiful Voice and so enjoyed listening to him many times. I accidentally stumbled across this blog. Felt sad but rejoiced in the joy he must be in…at home at last! He made his destiny!

    Like

  4. Welton

    Can’t you just hear Heaven now with Bishop Ewing, Vestal, Howard, Rusty and Sam Goodman. “The Lady,” Priscilla McGruder, all singing together in a way we can never hear on this earth. What a sight to see with their new Heavenly bodies, their new lives! Missed on earth but very much weldomed in Heaven.

    Like

  5. Michael

    I’ve never heard this song and the way this author painted such a spectacular sight as is sung by Bro Ewing. I count myself rich to hear a man of God sing under the anointing of the Holy Ghost. Such a loss to all his family and friends…….won’t heaven be wonderful!

    Like

  6. Debra Hart

    I am 55 yrs old, married to a pastor. I remember at the age of probably 13, he came to Ohio campmeeting and preached a message I shall never forget: ” God rides on the wings of the wind”. I wept to hear of his passing. He was a gentle giant, great man of God. What an awesome ministry he and Sis. Ewing had. My heart hurts for her as I know she feels lost. God bless the church, all of the family and especially Sis. Ewing….

    Like

  7. Happy New Year, Sister Fields and Sister McElhaney.

    Yes, we have lost a giant….temporarily, of course. What a man of God he was, not only an incredible singer, but a powerful preacher of the Word. His spirit was rare and humble.

    Of course, God’s Church will go on and will not falter, but it is hard to imagine anyone taking his place. My husband sat in his chair this morning and wept again as he thought of his friend’s death.

    God’s blessings to both of you.

    Like

  8. I loved his singing, but I also remember him preaching at Western District Youth Convention. It’s been about 30 years now, but I’ll never forget the impact his preaching made on my life that week.

    Like

  9. Doretha

    I wept too, Sis Buxton. He was my Hero in so many ways–yet, I never even got to actually talk to him. I met him at various times and shook hands, but never was able to tell him of all the times he ministered to me personally. We have lost a Giant and a Prince of a man–Heaven has gained a new Choir director and singer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

