How Sweet The Sound Finale Winners

It was only last year that I learned of the Verizon How Sweet the Sound search for the best church choir, and, with great interest, I have followed it ever since. To a sold out crowd, the finale was held in Washington D. C. on November 13. The National Final Winner was Greater Zion Church Family of the Los Angeles area and the runner up was Greater First Church of Chicago. The people’s choice, though, was a men’s group from Washington D. C, Greater Mount Calvary Holy Church, being the name of their church. They call themselves the Men of Valor.

The group is awesome, and I believe you will enjoy hearing and seeing them. Their presentation, though passionate, is tasteful and contained, their sound smooth and lyrical. It is interesting to me that there is one lone Caucasian in the group. What joy he must achieve by singing with this (other than himself) all black men’s group. Another person I want to point out, is the quite bent, elderly gentleman on our far right.. I am so touched when I watch him sing, surely offering up worship to the Lord. One more thing; I love their bow ties. 🙂

3 thoughts on “How Sweet The Sound Finale Winners

  1. HG

    Well then, now that I know you’re interested in How Sweet The Sound, I’ll have to drag you with me next October, to the local area concert at the Staples center in Los Angeles. I’ve gone to this concert the last three years – since the very first one. Each year the choirs have progressively gotten better – and every year the worship is more intense than the year before. This year was BY FAR the best year ever! EVERY choir was fiiiiiine!!! But, the Voices of Destiny seriously blew every other choir away. I’m not at all surprised they won the national finale. Their choir director is also the pastor of the church, as I’m sure you can tell when you watch their performance.

    Yeah for Los Angeles!!! Compton brought it home. Woooo Hoooo!!

    My dear Holly, you will not have to yank very hard to get me to the Staples center in October. It’s definitely a date. Love you, and EXPECT TO SEE YOU ONE DAY THIS WEEK. 🙂

    Like

  2. The following comments were first posted on Facebook.

    #
    Debbie Mack O’Brien
    Outstanding.

    #
    Dave Gray
    Very touching. Makes me realize again how unavailable I am…….

    #
    Jean Walter
    good!

    #
    Yvonne M Aune
    Thanks for sharing this video. They were great and looked classy too! 🙂

    #
    Cami Hodges Kelley
    Absolutely Beautiful…., love watching the elderly gentlemen, thank you for sharing. Blessing, have a Wonderful Thanksgiving

    Like

  3. dean

    Wonderful singing! The elderly Brother and his worship gives me hope!!!!!!

    Dean, your worship is no doubt precious, both to your loved ones about you, and to God and His invisible hosts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

