Death of Rev. Cleveland Becton

The Emmanuel Pentecostal Church of Mesquite, Tx. has announced the death of our beloved Brother Cleveland Becton. I grieve with his family and friends. A remarkable man of God has passed from this shattered world into the Glory beyond.

Brother Becton served as the General Secretary of the UPCI for 25 years and as the Assistant General Superintendent for three years.  He was a current honorary member of the General Board of the UPCI.

“A prince and a great man has fallen. . . .”

– II Samuel 3:38

It is with heavy hearts that Emmanuel Pentecostal Church announces the passing of our beloved Pastoral Elder, Rev. Cleveland M. Becton.  Bro. Becton entered eternity peacefully and comfortably while surrounded by his family at approximately 10:45 p.m., November 16, 2010.

We grieve because of the vast emptiness his promotion leaves in our lives; we give thanks for his indelible impact upon our church and the world; and we rejoice in the God of his Salvation.

“Well done, good and faithful servant; you were faithful….  Enter into the joy of your Lord.”

11 thoughts on “Death of Rev. Cleveland Becton

  1. joyce

    Can anyone tell me how I can find music (video or audio, online or not) of brother Becton playing piano? I’ve heard him growing up and times, and can say there was no one quite like him on that piano! Blessings! (you can email me at freed2befree@yahoo.com thanks!)

    Like

  2. Linda Dyson

    My husbands cousin, Margie was married to Cleveland Becton. He was one of the sweetest, most real persons I have ever known. Steve and I remember when he lived in St. Louis. We took our daughter, Rennie there to visit with him. When he walked in the room Rennie said, “here comes the King”. He just lit up!!! I know that its hard to lose your family and thats why when one of the body loses someone, we all hurt with them. May God hold this family up during this transition. Steve and Linda Dyson

    Like

  3. Pam Howard

    I have known the Becton’s for approximately 35 years. I remember as a young child they would come and preach our campmeetings in Idaho. As a young musician, I was completely mesmerized by Bro. Becton’s accordian and piano playing. He was such an anointed man of God. As recent as 2 years ago at Because of the Times, he would remember the Idaho days and we would talk about it. What an unbelievable loss. We love the Becton’s and our prayers are with the family. May you feel the comfort and love of Jesus Christ!

    Like

  4. Bro. Becton was my husband’s pastor in Nashville from 1976 to 1982. My husband was a teenager at the time. I cannot think of a better man to instill truth into a teenager than Bro. Becton. We last saw him in March of 2009 at his granddaughter’s wedding. He preached and played the piano the following morning and at age 80 was still the anointed man of God we had known and loved.

    He will be greatly missed!

    Like

  5. Lila Penner

    Brother Becton preached many times at our Family Camps in Minnesota, and also at my home church in Duluth. I always enjoyed his preaching and if he played the piano for us, it was a special treat. One time when he was visiting Duluth, my children and I were blessed to have Sunday dinner with him at my Uncle James Merrick’s home. Sister Carrie Merrick and I were in the kitchen, getting dinner ready, Bro. Becton, my Uncle and our youngest son, Ryan, were in the living room. Ryan was a young teenager at the time and was mostly listening to the conversation. My Aunt called my Uncle into the kitchen to cut the meat for dinner, which left Bro. Becton in the living room with Ryan. I will never forget how Bro. Becton started a conversation with Ryan, asking him questions about himself, about his life, etc. He was so kind, and so “real.” Bro. Becton went out of his way to turn what could have been an awkward situation for Ryan, into a memory to cherrish for a lifetime!

    In a few minutes we were all called to the table and enjoyed a delicious dinner and wonderful fellowship. On our way home, I explained to Ryan that he had been blessed to have had a “chat” with a great man of God. Our family has been blessed by Bro. Becton’s ministry many, many times. This memory is the sweetest! Heaven’s gain is surely our loss!

    Like

  6. Lynette McEndarfer

    What a great man of God! He was such an inspiration to many, many people. A warrior has made it home to the other side. He is experiencing what we still long for. Oh, to stand in the presence of the Heavenly King and see all of His glory and splendor! Enjoy your homegoing, Bro. Becton!

    Like

  7. I don’t believe there was a more “gentle” man than Brother C M Becton. My youngest son has precious memories of his gentle kind spirit. Never too busy to speak to a teenager (at that time). He’s never forgotten! He will be missed, but “Oh what JOY, Oh what singing…”

    Like

  8. Carolyn Orr McCann

    Not only was Bro. Becton an awesome man of God and minister of the Gospel, but one of the most annointed and talented musicians I’ve ever heard in my lifetime. When he played the piano or accordian, you could feel an awesome flow of the Holy Spirit as he worshiped on the keyboard! He will be greatly missed! May the Lord surround all the Becton Family with His comforting arms.

    Like

  9. I’m sorry, I just saw the dates you put on his photograph.

    Tena, I cannot think of a more godly, kind, precious man than Brother Becton. We truly have lost a treasure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

