My Tribute to our Servicemen

I stop this morning to add my word of  thanks to each serviceman who has served our country since its amazing inception. Some have died in my defense. Some of you will carry painful wounds to your grave. Some are tormented by ghastly vision of war. All these that my loved ones and I may live in freedom and peace. Thank you. From the bottom of my heart, I sincerely speak these words.
Mary McHugh mourns her slain fiance Sgt. James Regan at the Arlington National Cemetery May 27, 2007, Memorial Day weekend. Regan, a U.S. Army Ranger from Long Island, was killed by a roadside bomb in Iraq in February, and this was the first time McHugh had visited the grave since the funeral. When he died, Regan was on his fourth combat deployment – twice in Afghanistan and twice in Iraq.

Source: Getty Images John Moore https://writenow.wordpress.com/2009/05/25/memorial-day-tribute/

Narrated by John Wayne is this moving account of the origin of that famous sound: TAPS

Edit: 8:35 Thursday

Please also read this story of a veteran, Todd Niceley, who is now in Walter Reed Hospital, having lost both arms and both legs. http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/11/10/AR2010111008002.html

3 thoughts on “My Tribute to our Servicemen

  1. I just watched the video you linked here. All I can say is WOW! What a courageous young man and what a loving young woman. I admire them both immensely. Thank you for sharing. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

