The Well-Trained Child


Probably because I have been around children a lot–have four of my own, twenty grands and great-grands, have taught many Sunday school classes through the years, and otherwise in various capacities have worked with children of all ages–I have noted the extreme value in the training of a child. The amount of training and discipline in the home, without an added word, reveals itself in social situations; in school classrooms, in restaurants, in church, in mall department stores, on city sidewalks, in neighborhood parks, and on country byways. It shows itself when a child is introduced to a stranger, the way he deals with fellow players on a sports team, his attitude when he is disciplined by an adult other than his parents, his knowledge of general etiquette, the way he dresses–his overall deportment.

The well-trained child has been taught the ways of God, and it is a beautiful thing. He does not find it unusual to pray over his meals, nor to sit for extended periods on church pews, nor to hear preachers expound the Word of God. He knows Bible stories and can recite them.

Today, I came across this amazing video of a charming, extraordinary little girl, who, obviously has been trained in the ways of God. What a tribute to her family, to her Sunday school teachers and to her pastor.

3 thoughts on “The Well-Trained Child

  1. Great post! I have watched this FIVE times! Lol! I just can’t stand how CUTE she is! I posted a question on the family’s YouTube account and asked if she is being homeschooled. I’m curious and I bet she is. 😉 (Haven’t heard yet).

    I’m also curious to know how old she is. Let us know if you find more information. This is an amazing child. I took my computer and headset over to Jerry and said, “You must listen to this.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

