Trunk or Treat, Old-Fashion Halloween and Christians

“Trunk or treat,” I kept hearing of, and reading about, and wondering what in the world it was, until finally I read in a local on-line column where someone corrected a person for using the phrase, “Trunk or treat.”

“It’s not Trunk or Treat, you know. It’s Trick or Treat.”

The reply came quickly:

“No, it’s called Trunk or Treat. People bring their cars, SUV’s station wagons, and open up the back and the kids go from vehicle to vehicle. At least 4 church up here do this, have been doing it for some time. There are also booths set up and hotdogs available, etc.”

From Rim of the World.net

So now I knew, and it roused in my mind again this issue of Halloween and what a great time I had, when as a child, my siblings and I rousted about in the streets of Springfield, Mo. I checked my blog history and found that four years ago, I wrote about such occasions, and also discussed the issue of Halloween and a Christian’s response to the holiday. I think you’ll enjoy reading it.

Halloween was an exciting part of my childhood, and our neighborhood became a joyous mill of children, costumed mostly in our parent’s clothes with our grinning faces covered with stiffened-cloth masks painted to look like a ghost, a cat, a dog, or maybe a clown. I recall when really scary witchy rubber masks came onto the market, but they were too expensive, and although we gawked at and pawed over the rubber ones in the dime stores, we were only able to purchase the cheap ones. We certainly never bought any complete commercial costumes; actually I don’t remember that such things were available, but they may have been. It often was turning cold in Missouri on Halloween and we wore sweaters under our scary clothes to keep our scary bodies warm. We dashed through the neighborhood alone, three little children, and said Boo! loudly, and tramped up porch steps and shouted “Tricker Treat!” and waited for the front doors to open and the Mama or Daddy of the place to hand out the treats. Our neighbors would show fright at our ugly faces, then try to guess who we were. We made scary noises deep in our throats and giggled and sometimes pulled back our masks to laughingly reveal ourselves.

The remainder of the post is here.

6 thoughts on “Trunk or Treat, Old-Fashion Halloween and Christians

  1. Halloween in my childhood was the time when we would dress up as hobos (cheap easy to make costumes that are now considered not allowable because they aren’t PC and we can’t “mock” homeless people)… and we would drive for miles to the three neighboring ranches where we kids would play kick the can and roast marshmallows and sometimes dunk for apples. We would get a full sized candy bar from the people who lived there. The adults would socialize and drink coffee while we played. Each house visit took about 45 minutes. We walked away from the night with three full sized candy bars and tired from fun and games.

    My husband on the other hand hated Halloween. Always. His mother would dress him up and get him out to trick or treat and he would last about two houses and want to go home. By age 7 they gave up and never took him again.

    When we married we realized that my Halloween didn’t exist anymore and he didn’t like it anyway so we never did it with our kids. And you know something. They didn’t miss it at all. Now they all have children and one of them trick-or-treats, one goes to church “fall festivals” and two don’t do Halloween in any way.

    And it’s all good.

    Like

  2. Debbie

    I understand the spiritual aspect of this holiday, but I was the daughter of a preacher and he would allow me to go trick or treating and it was so much fun, we never dressed up in anything creepy, just hobo’s or fairytale characters… everything we did was just so much fun feeling free and running down the sidewalk trying to go to as many houses as possible and seeing our friends, laughing at their costumes! I did allow my children to trick or treat also and they had tons of fun! We never associated it with anything evil because we never brought that into our fun!

    Like

  3. I too have only fond memories of Halloween. We loved choosing “who we were gonna be for Halloween” and had so much fun shopping for costumes and trying them on. Oh, what a hard decision. 🙂 We always went Trick-or-Treating and our neighbors loved having us come to their doors. And then eating all that candy! Fun, fun times. 😀
    Hmmm…I’m feeling a blog post forming in my head. 😉 Thanks for the nudge, Sis. Buxton.

    Thanks, Tena, for coming by and for leaving a comment. FB has changed blog things a lot. More people comment over there, than do here. I prefer it be done on my blog, (or both as you have done 🙂 )for its easier to find….I think. Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

