Tweaked Molasses Crinkle-top Cookies

I don’t have pictures. Why? We ate them. All. All of them. The cookies, I mean. Well, I know I could have taken pictures before we devoured up the sweet morsels, but I didn’t think of it then. And now they’re gone.

Cookies. Yes, they were cookies. Cookies like I used to make when my youngsters were small, and whose recipe I always took off the molasses jar, (which shortsightedly I had failed to copy), but once when I went to whip up a batch the recipe was no longer on the label, but rather had been replaced by another molasses concoction. I tried other such cookie recipes but none seemed to turn out quite right…until a couple of weeks ago, when I tweaked a recipe I found on the internet, and voila! I had baked up a fine batch of molasses crinkle-top cookies.

I’m in the sharing mood and want you to have this recipe.

MOLASSES CRINKLE-TOP COOKIES

Cream together:

3/4 C shortening

1 C dark brown sugar

1 large egg

1/4 C molasses

Sift together:

2 1/4 C flour

2 teaspoons soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon cloves

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 1/2 teaspoons ginger

Stir thoroughly into well-creamed, fluffy mixture.

Chill. Shape into ping-pong sized balls. Dip the tops in granulated sugar. Place 3 inches apart on greased cookie sheets, sugar side up. Sprinkle each cookie with a couple drops of water. Bake at 350 degrees until just set–about 8 minutes. DO NOT OVER BAKE. Let cool slightly, then remove to cooling rack.

These should be eaten warm, coupled with an icy-cold glass of milk. šŸ™‚

If by chance, there are any left from the first eating, store in an airtight container so they will be soft when you eat them tomorrow. šŸ™‚

_______________

Now, take a look at the top of my site and you will see a heading called GREAT RECIPES. It has been rather neglected, and since we’re nearing the great holiday season when most of us chop and cook and peel and bake and eat, and when I know some of you are very good cooks, I’d like to give that column a bit of a boost. Check it out, if you feel inclined, take a look at the great recipes that are there, and add one of your own very best ones. Just post it as a comment, and I’ll move it to the top. I’m starting by adding this quite fine cookie recipe.

Cheers…and great cooking…and eating.

2 thoughts on “Tweaked Molasses Crinkle-top Cookies

  1. I just found you! I have been making this recipe for years and it is absolutely my favorite cookie… (I increase the ginger to 1T simply because I like the kick, but that is just me). So glad to have stumbled on you!

    Like

  2. These look wonderful!!

    Hey, thanks for visiting my site. Hope you’re here often. Well, I suppose the recipe looks good. The cookies in “real life” look (and taste) even better. Blessings to you and yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

