Anticipation

How that both photographs and memories enable us to relive events has often been discussed, and since I’m in agreement with the premise, I take lots of pictures, and, I often engage myself in memories–both of recent happenings and of those from long ago. We’re blessed with a relatively large house, and we have rather given one of the rooms to memories. In that room are stored thousands of pictures, both bound neatly in albums and filed into boxes, ranging from those designed for pictures, to ordinary shoe boxes. In the closet of the room is a slide projector and hundreds of slides. The picture room also stores and displays mementos from our travels. My old cameras are there. It’s a great room, gets to be a mess easily, (especially during the holidays) for all the family know they are welcome to rummage around in there, and sometimes the “rummager” is less skilled at returning things to their spots as he is at taking them out. ๐Ÿ™‚ The room has an ordinary blue and grey sofa, (complete with cushions that tend to slide off if one is sleeping on it) plenty of lamps, and when our house is full of grandkids and great-grandkids it also becomes a bedroom, utilizing said sad couch, and with blankets, sleeping bags, and little people covering every suitable inch of the floor.

Images in that room run the gamut from baby pictures of our latest great-grandchild to austere images of Jerry’s grandparents and of mine. Memories galore. Jerry and I; young and handsome, our babies, our churches, our friends, our trips…ย  Priceless. These images and objects enable the replay of the occasion; a reflection of the day’s mood, color, scent, sound, and emotion, so that in actuality I live again that day.

The wonderful winter holidays approach, and this morning I’ve thought extensively about Anticipation, and how that such a sense adds another element, another layer of enjoyment to any occasion. I’m rollicking in Anticipation of Thanksgiving. A couple of my granddaughters called today telling me how they will be here with us, and how they are looking forward to it, and how my great-grandchildren are wanting to be here. I’m loving it. I’m thinking of the bed situation, and asked Jerry a few minutes ago if in the next few weeks, he could take a look at our two inflatable mattresses that we have to use when a bunch of us are together. The last time Chris and Christina slept on one of them, by morning, they were flat on the hard floor. I believe some of the little ones had been using it for a trampoline. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I’m smelling savory turkey and dressing. I’m catching whiffs of spicy pumpkin pie as it nears a finish in the oven. I’m hearing youngsters yelping outside, and roars of laughter as we engage in our favorite board game, Balderdash. (One year we laughed so loudly, Ken and Nancy heard us from across the street!) I’m hearing the chop of onion, the whir of the mixer, the gurgle of a fresh pot of coffee and the clink of crystal. I’m seeing the house in an upheaval. I’m thinking table cloths and china and mashed potatoes.

And so–certainly for me–this Thanksgiving has begun. I’m thinking I will experience it at least four ways: I will continue with my anticipation of that bountiful day, I will experience it fully when the dayย  comes, later I will stare at pictures we snap, and in my mind, many days and years from now, I will again explore its depth, using the blessed memory God has so graciously given us.

But for now, I have only the Anticipation. Know something? It’s cool.

__________________

8:00 pm Tuesday edit

I’m not the only one in anticipation of the big day. My 13-year-old grandson Nathaniel was just up here visiting us and told me he has cut a huge stack of papers to use in playing Balderdash! That’s my kind of grandboy. ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. HG

    This is only one of the reasons why I love you so much.

    Oh, Holly, how I love you. Are you having an early dinner with your family?….traveling somewhere?….If it’s convenient (and the right thing ) I’d love to make you a turkey sandwich on Thanksgiving evening…and engage you in a game of Balderdash!

    Like

  2. You’ve made me so hungry! I’m also looking forward to Thanksgiving – it’s always a big time with our family. Not knowing it would be her last, last Thanksgiving I took a picture of my 89 year old grandmother holding her 3 week old great-grandson – that is a priceless treasure!

    Hi, Kathy. Thanks for coming by and for your comment. What a treasure is that picture you took of your grandmother and the baby. I’m going over to your site. Hope the picture might be there. Have a blessed day.

    Like

  3. Holly

    Shirley, I have been thinking of you and the wonderful Thanksgiving we shared last year. I will truly never forget it! The memories for me that were dug up were enormous. Wonderful family, cooking, games, fun, laughter, house full of kids, Outside in the snow!! I loved it. Your chocolate pie was truly sensational and I still talk to others about it. I actually bought all the ingredients a couple of months ago bu tstill haven”t made it. Jay is not in love with chocolate like I am and it would be so hard not too just eat the whole thing!!! I miss you and Pastor so very much!!! we love you and pray for you both daily.

    Holly, you have made me “homesick” to see you and Jay with this post. It was our privilege to have you join us last Thanksgiving…and you’re welcome any time.

    If you look closely at the image of the picture room, you may recognize one of the wall hangings. How touching was that presentation, and we’ll always love you for it.

    Like

  4. Nita

    Thanksgiving is one of my favorite times of the year. Larry and I have had guest over that were alone or had no-one in town to share it with it, and it was a special time for our family. I have to make myself stop planning dishes or else it would become a waste. So glad you are home and feeling better. Love you, Nita

    I love you, too, Nita, and hope one Thanksgiving you can plan to be with us here in the West.

    Like

  5. Oh, Sis. Buxton, we have the same hearts. ๐Ÿ™‚ For I too LOVE memories of the past and preserving them for the future. Some people may say, “Oh, don’t live in the past.” I’m not…I’m remembering what has brought me to the present. One day, my children and grandchildren will say, “I am so glad mom/grandma took so many photos and videos.”

    Thank you for this wonderful post. Love you.

    Tena, remember you once spent a holiday with us…was it Thanksgiving? I would love to have you again. You’re welcome anytime.

    Like

  6. dean

    I also smell the turkey, and I can almost taste the dressing! Can’t hardly wait!!

    Thanks for being here, Dean. Ah, dressing…probably my favorite part of the meal. Love you guys.

    Like

Leave a Reply

