Provision

It was not entirely unexpected for Rebecca had been up to our place before we arrived, and told us of the acorns, yet when we drove onto our driveway that Wednesday evening, we were startled at the loud crunching sound our tires made. Acorns! Our driveway was literally covered with the “fruit” of our multiple oak trees–and with the “fruit” of our neighbors’ multiple oak trees.

“What’s the deal?” Next morning I leaned over our back deck rail and called to Bill, our delightful 85-year-old next-door neighbor. “What’s with all the acorns?”

He paused from his doings and answered. “Hard winter. That’s what they say. Lots of acorns from our trees indicate a hard, cold winter.” Then in his slow, friendly way, he added. “Willing to give mine away. Anybody want these, they can have them.” I grinned, and noted his yard to be covered with the round hard nuts.

Poor Ken and Nancy who live just across the street have no oaks in the front of their house, and later in the week, from our front deck, I called to Ken. “Ken, I feel sorry that you don’t have many acorns as Bill and I, so I’m willing to share ours with you. Don’t want you to feel left out.” But Ken, not in the neighborly mood, I suppose, refused my offer, choosing instead a driveway and flower beds clear of acorns, pointing out to me, that his side hill is well furnished with the things.

Poor Jerry. He’s been raking and cleaning and loading bags of the monstrous acorns, even being subjected to the thumping on his head a couple of times. The air about our house is punctuated with the sharp thud of acorns as they hit our decks and our cement driveway. Throughout the night, I often wake to the clunk of the oak “fruit.”

Know something? God provided those acorns. The best we beings can figure, when a hard, cold winter is about to grab us, something causes those gigantic oaks to set more fruit, to grow big, lush acorns. It’s for the critters–the squirrels, bears, deer, mice and anyone else who cares for acorn tidbits. In some parts of the world, acorns are used for human consumption: actually it is noted that Native Americans often used acorns as a food source.

All this acorn activity has prompted me to consider how bountifully and graciously God supplies our needs, and how I must assure that I’m thankful and aware of His goodness. I recently was in a church service in which the pastor asked if anyone had a testimony of something special God had done for them. “I don’t want to hear any sad stories,” he coached. “Just something wonderful God has done.”

From the mid-section of the church, a small, smiling woman spoke, telling of her home being in foreclosure for several months, how she has tried not to worry, but to trust in God, how the house was scheduled to be placed on the market this Monday, and about the phone call she just received from the bank. “It’s not a finished deal,” she emphasized as she related her experience. But if all goes as she has been told, their home will be saved and the payment which was previously $1700.00 a month will now be $320.00 a month! I quizzed her after the service, and she confirmed what I had heard. There is a 2% interest involved, it will be a 40 year loan, and yes! the payment will be as low as $320.00.

God, the great provider. Neat, huh?

An Alaskan storm moved into our area the first few days we were home, giving us lots of fog, and stiff winds that flung about the oak limbs and scattered more acorns onto the waiting decks and onto our driveway. The falling nuts seem to have decreased a bit, so Jerry is expecting a little relief from the almost constant sweeping, raking, and shoveling into bags the bountiful acorns. A couple of days ago, though, I stood on our back deck and snapped this picture.

That huge oak tree in the back is still at it, nurturing fresh, young, lush acorns. Poor Jerry.

5 thoughts on “Provision

  1. Perhaps items for the grandkids to make crafts with? πŸ˜‰
    And…great exercise for Bro. Buxton.
    There’s a positive side to everything…well…ALmost everything. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Shirley, LOOK!

    Look what you can do! πŸ™‚

    http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Acorn-Flour

    and then…

    http://www.prodigalgardens.info/acorn%20recipes.htm

    Acorns…not just for clunking on your house or crunching under your tires! πŸ™‚

    Oh, you’re too much, Linda. Thank you (I suppose) for sending me this information. Tell you the truth after reading from these links, I think I’m too lazy to go to all that work. A shame, though, for I could peddle my acorn flour and be rich.

    Love. Wish I could see you again.

    Shirley

    Like

  3. Hi Sister Buxton,

    I have one acorn that is very special to me. It is on the nightstand next to my bed. I’ve had it for over 30 years. As a new teenage convert, someone recommended that I go through a workbook called From An Acorn To An Oak. I believe it was written by Loren Yadon, and as far as I know, it’s not in print any more. Anyhow, at the beginning of the book there was a quote that really struck me.

    “The mighty oak was once a little acorn that held its ground.”

    One day shortly after reading this quote, my mom gave me a little acorn that she had found in our neighborhood. I decided that I would always keep it as a reminder of the quote and a reminder to myself to keep on holding onto my faith in God. I’m so glad that I can say that God has kept me, and I’m still holding on to Him. My one little acorn is great, but I don’t know what I would do with thousands of them. LOL Thanks for sharing your story.

    Carol, thank you for telling me of your special acorn and about the book that impacted your life. I have a special acorn too. You made it into a person and gave it to me. Love you.

    Like

  4. Oh we have them too! They are HUGE this year and we have more than the usual amount. Does make me wonder about this winter? Interesting read. Glad you’re back to posting and hope you do it regularly again?! Have a great WINTER! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

