The Superior Tomato

Is the produce homegrown or store-bought? Tell the truth I usually can’t tell much difference, and if someone should test me, I honestly don’t believe I could identify the homegrown veggie. Except for one! The tomato. I assure you homegrown tomatoes are vastly superior to their market counterparts, and I don’t believe I have ever met anyone who disagreed with me. Zucchini, yellow squash, a green onion, an ear of corn, or a cantaloupe, whether purchased from a market or picked from someone’s garden, taste much the same to me. I confess that I am no expert and fully recognize there may be more differences than I am aware. But tomatoes! Easily recognized is the vast difference between mass produced orbs and those that come from a carefully tended backyard plot!

Rebecca has a garden. Last week she gave us ripe, succulent homegrown tomatoes. I tell you the taste and texture of such a piece of fruit extensively surpasses that of the hard, cardboard-like pieces found in grocery stores.

Today I sliced a couple, salted them generously, and before I lifted a fork to my mouth I snapped a couple of pictures for you to admire.

Hope you’re as blessed as I, and have either your own plants in the backyard or a friend or two who will share their summer bounty with you. Grab a salt shaker and indulge.

6 thoughts on “The Superior Tomato

  1. Rebecca

    They are Beefsteak; but of the Heirloom variety. Just didn’t notice I guess. I think I may have over watered the tomatoes perhaps stunting their growth. The plants are quite large and lush— it is hard to know. The heat has been unreal so not certain as to how much water. You are right though, they are delicious. Made my own tomato paste tonight for some good chili. Just plopped several tomatoes in the blender put a hint of sugar. Yum……..

    Like

  2. Rebecca

    Beefsteak. I just went outside to check to make certain. In very small letters at the bottom it read Heirloom Tomato.

    So, they’re not Beefsteak? and are indeed Heirlooms? I’m not surprised. I believe Beefsteaks are much larger than yours. Whatever you have–they’re outstanding. Love you.

    Like

  3. Rebecca

    Soon as I see you….more tomatoes. Come home quickly though—the season is a short one. Love you. PS Next year we will plant Heirlooms, see how they measure up!

    Bek, what kind did you grow this year? They are delicious.

    Like

  4. Ummm. You’re right, Rebecca. Alas, I have no more homegrown tomatoes…and the ones in the store just don’t measure up.

    Dean, not sure if I’ve eaten Heirlooms, but I’ve heard before how delicious they are. We’ve never had much of a garden. A shame.

    Like

  5. Rebecca

    Ummm. Homegrown tomatoes. Try this: several slices of a juicy tomato, purple onion, 2-3 leaves of fresh basil, fresh pepper, half a shake of salt, smear or two of mayo and mustard. Pile all this on fresh, nutty bread. Ummmmmmmmmmm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

